Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Landline Caller ID

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by NokiaKrazy, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Recently, I have noticed that when I call a landline from my cell. Now my number and NAME will come up. It is nice that Alltel does this.

    I have 2 phones with Alltel. Is there anyway to edit the name that displays on the caller ID? I would like to keep my phone with my name and my wifes with her name on it.
     
  2. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yes. Call CS and ask them to change the caller ID name on your wife's line. It should take about 5 minutes, depending on hold times.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. music4praise

    music4praise Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Motorola W766
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Ting
    As far as I can tell they are the only cellular company that does it.
     
  4. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel

    Nope, Sprint does it too. Possibly Cingular?
     
  5. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I know that NEXTEL often allowed you to change it to whatever you want, so maybe now Sprint allows it too, cause I don't remember them used to allowing it.

    What did it show before?? Just like City/State kind of thing?
     
  6. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    With Alltel it generally shows the account holder name or something like Wireless Subscriber or Alltel Wireless, unless it's changed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel

    I showed CELLULARONE, then it went to ALLTEL WIRELESS and now it displays my name.
     
  8. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I know here T-mobile, Cingular, & Sprint have this.. I wish verizon would do this.
     
  9. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Here Verizon has TOWN,ST. I thought they would do the name. They must be busy doing their V Cast thing.
     
  10. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I'm actually happy my phone doesn't display my name but SALT LAKE, UT instead. ALLTEL WIRELESS or CELLULARONE would also be cool ;)
    NokiaCrazy, do you know if all of ALLTEL's network in Utah is now all digital? I know that the last CELLULAR ONE/WESTERN WIRELESS maps showed a lot of Utah as still analog. Sorry to be taking this off topic.
     
  11. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel

    I know of one area that is still analog. That was a month ago
     
  12. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Is there any areas around I-15 that you know of that are still analog? ALLTEL has few pockets of low/no service from St.George to the Utah County border where Verizon drops out a ton of times, but I'm wondering if that's because their network just doesn't reach to some of those places or because some sites are still analog?
    ALLTEL does have a site on the AZ side of the Virgin River just as you leave it. It's an Omni site that reaches in quite a bit into the Virgin River. When driving inside the river, I saw at least one cellsite up on top of a mountain, but I didn't get any CDMA service, nor GSM. Didn't check AMPS. Western Wireless last maps showed all through the Virgin River analog. Does ALLTEL have AMPS through the Virgin River??? Do you know?
     
  13. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon

    Alltel has everything WWC had prior to conversion. They are working on deploying more CDMA but there are still parts of Utah that are AMPS-only because they're further out from the major usage areas.

    The majority of Alltel CDMA coverage in Utah runs along 15 and 70.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Moto, do you have any maps that you could share with us that show ALLTEL's native coverage in Utah, and maybe even distinguishes their CDMA and AMPS? Western Wireless had nice maps that distinguised for the public, but ALLTEL's maps are all blue and you can't tell a difference.
     
  15. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    No Alltel maps, unfortunatly. Best I can do is the former WWC coverage map for Utah.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #15 MOTOhooligan, Apr 26, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  16. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Thank You! I appreciate it.
     
  17. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Andy,

    YES YES YES. Inside the Virgin River Gorge on I-15 (Arizona) is still analog. I forgot about that. I think that area is called Littlefield,AZ.

    The tower that I mentioned earlier is Frisco Peak,UT. Frisco Peak is about 9000 ft in elevation. Covers Milford, Minersville UT areas.
     
  18. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    All of I-15 is covered by Alltel CDMA Utah county south. Yes there is two spots where service is lost. Just for a moment and your back on the phone talking again.
     
  19. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    AWESOME!!!! This is great news that ALLTEL covers the Virgin River Gorge.
    The Cellsite outside the Gorge on the AZ side is actually in Littlefield like you mentioned. It's an Omni site and the only digital site around because the neighborhod list in field test is zero(0) so no other sites around.

    Is Frisco Peak the only analog site ALLTEL has left? Do you think there's more? Their southern UT coverage is just unbelievable looking at the maps and once it's all digital it will be awesome.

    Verizon actually does a crappy job on I-15 south of the UT county border to St. George. Other than the areas where there's towns around, their service cuts in and out a lot. I always force my phone onto ALLTEL so I can actually have a conversation. Thank you so much for this information!

    Do you travel to other areas of Southern UT like the Moab area??? If so, could you tell me how ALLTEL fares in those areas.
     
  20. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    There is a analog site somewhere inside the Gorge. It is around the rest area in the Gorge. I can use analog inside the Gorge but I would not recommend it. Wait until you get out of the Gorge before using the phone.

    And the tower outside of the Gorge is digital. I never heard of an Omni site before.

    Eastern Utah on I-70 is still analog. And Pioche and Caliente,NV is still analog only for Cell One.... I mean Alltel.

    I never been to Moab.
     
  21. music4praise

    music4praise Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Motorola W766
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Ting
    The blue on this map shows where Alltel has 1X coverage and the green shows where Verizon has 1X coverage but Alltel doesn't. It isn't exactly what you guys have been talking about but it does show part of the puzzle for you. Alltel's cdma coverage is larger than the 1X. Last summer when I was visiting Utah with my Alltel phone I had cdma coverage nearly everywhere except while in the valley of Zion National Park. Coverage at Bryce was fine as was coverage most of the length of highway 12.

    http://www.alltel.com/business/images/map_mobilelink_utah.gif
     
  22. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Yeah, you could be right about the site being around the rest area. It's high on top of a mountain and visible from the highway if you look closely. I wonder if this will give ALLTEL continous digital coverage from ST. George to the AZ border through the Gorge when they convert this site to CDMA.
    An Omni-directional site is a site that's not direction(that doesn't use panels), but instead normal round, thin 'antennas' if I may call it that.

    Music, thanks for the map. So other than the blue pictured on the map, all other ALLTEL coverage in Central/Southern UT is still analog?
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice