Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Just got from Puerto Rico with my 6000 and....

Discussion in 'LG Electronics' started by rappo, Jul 29, 2003.

  1. rappo

    rappo Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    absolutly no problems. Roming, but all 1x, all the time. No matter the area (and I went through some places, believe me.) Reception was good. But a few times I would have to dial a number twice for it to go through and the same for someone calling me. But hey, it's the carribean, what can you say.

    So no analog needed and I am 100% comfortable with the 6000. How about you guys?
     
  2. Tony E!

    Tony E! Retired Mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,190
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    mine is great so far, but do you really think you don't need analog? could it be that maybe beacuse puerto rico is smaller you didn't run into any analog terrain? hummmm?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Lenney97

    Lenney97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took my VX 6000 to Cozumel Mexico... and I had a single over there... I don't remember if it was on 1X or D but at least it worked [​IMG]
     
  4. rappo

    rappo Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't say that it's because Puerto Rico is so small. I know a few people who have had problems with their Cingular and AT&T phones. Now I know more towers have been added since last year but I was glad to not only have a signal but a 1x signal at that. But I did have the flashing triangle. My friend I visited has Verizon in P.R. I didn't get into details with her about her phone but she had a clear signal without a triangle. Wonder why I had one?
     
  5. G3XP

    G3XP Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flashing just means you are away from your home network...its based on your PRL...either way you will not incurr roaming charges...if its solid you are roaming. Your phone most likely has a different PRL on her phone. What I heard in PR verizon uses PCS band 1900mhz so if your home area is primarily based on cellular band 800mhz such as NYNJ area you will see a flashing icon on your phone. Or maybe just verizon does not want you to use your M2M mins. The reason for to make multiple calls is because you become second priority on the system. Either way you will not incurr roaming charges. It happend to me when I traveled to Florida. I know florida uses 1900mhz pcs as well. Remember Primco? was bought by Verizon
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice