Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Just got a Rumor 2!

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by larry, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    More details later as I just got it activated. :)
     
  2. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Ohhh larry. Still stuck on 1x, huh? Did you consider the samsung rant?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Doesn't everyone know by now that I don't want EVDO? I have an old grandfathered $10 unlimited data/text messaging plan that's only good for non EVDO devices. I would have to pay $15 or $20 more for what I get if I switched over and there's no real reason for me to do so. I don't use the internet a lot but I am a text messaging maniac so the Rumor 2 suits me fine.
     
  4. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I like how this phone has the new over the air hands free programming. :) No more having to manually enter the info like on my previous phones. But I did have to turn off my Airave for it to provision. It also has a built in PRL updating feature. No more having to call customer service to be flagged for updates. Just updated the PRL from 50550 to 50552.
     
  5. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I used to have the $5 unlimited 1x data/sms on my plan. When I switched to an EVDO device (well, actually, 2 years and 3 phones later), and sprint shut off my evdo data, they bumped my $5 data to $7.50 data. So, im actually paying less for EVDO than you are for 1x. You should look into that via retentions.

    My new(ish) touch pro tried activating with this hands free activation thing, but failed, so I had to do it manually. It does, however, update the PRL automatically.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sheureka

    sheureka Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    My Phone:
    HTC Touch Pro2
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint PCS
    I still pay $10 for my unlimited data/text/picmail plan - and I'm using a Touch Pro. - sheureka ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Enjoy your new Rumor 2, larry!

    Nothing like getting a new phone!!! ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    Can you send two texts at once when connected to the Airave now?
     
  9. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    How did you swing that one? Rentention deal? I don't believe in going that route myself to get what I want although I'm sure I could.

    I will test it out later and let you know. I sure hope so!

    Thanks Mike. I don't get new phones as often as most on here so I am happy when I finally do. :)
     
    #9 larry, Apr 2, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2009
  10. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    The Rumor 2 can send texts to multipile recipients at the same time while connected to the Airave! Yay!
     
  11. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Well so far the Rumor 2 has been better than the original in every category except ringer and message alert volume. The original had considerably louder ringers and alerts. I have to keep the Rumor 2 on the max volume in order to hear it ring when it's it my pocket or in a different room of the house. With the original I only had to set the level about half way up.

    But the Rumor 2's better earpiece sound quality, keyboard, LCD, camera, design, looks, and improved features make the Rumor 2 a much better phone overall. Battery life is about the same or maybe slightly better.

    I sent some test pictures to Anthromatt and he agrees that the Rumor 2 pics look better than the pics from the original.
     
  12. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Glad you're happy with it so far. :)

    Question, has Sprint started putting their own UI versus LG's? Or is it basically the same menu structure as Sprint's always used?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I'm not sure how to answer that because I'm not aware of what the differences are between them.
     
  14. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Actually. you just did! :D

    If you haven't noticed a recurring theme with Sprint phones' UI, then they must not have implemented a generalized UI on their phones, a la Verizon.

    I thought I'd read something somewhere about Sprint unifying a UI among all their phones. I guess they left well enough alone...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I think what you are refering to is Sprints One-Click UI. I believe they are not including that on any 1x device.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    So is it for ALL EV-DO phones, including smartphones? Or are smartphone UI's being left as they are via Windows?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Oh no, windows is being left alone. This is only for dumb-phones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    generally all the standard phones have altered UIs.............Windows Mobile and Blackberry don't but the regular phones do.....Sprint's menu structures are pretty much the same among all their phones
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I'm guessing they're phones are not locked down like Verizon's?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    no not really but the phones can't do things like ringtone transfers or anything like that so they are locked down a bit
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. blahblah92

    blahblah92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    My Phone:
    Samsung exclaim
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I had the rant....however i traded it in for my AMAZING rumor2 just last week. The rumor2 is amazing, and may lack evdo but has a nicer keyboard, and better lcd display.

    The only thing i miss is the better battery life on the rant.
     
  22. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    My Rumor 2 gets excellent battery life. Probably the best out of any phone I have ever used.
     
  23. blahblah92

    blahblah92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    My Phone:
    Samsung exclaim
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    It does have great battery life as well, but i found that the rant had lasted me about 2 and a half days on average before dieing, while the rumor2 had lasted at about a day and a half.

    Also Larry, I am interested in a cheap data pack plan for my rumor 2. Is there a $5 data pack thing that i could use for mobile messenger and small things like that?
     
  24. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I get around 2 and a half days of battery life on my Rumor 2.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice