Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Is your local Analog cellular network turned off yet?

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Jay2TheRescue, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    well, i found out where alot of the verizon analog is comming from.... comnet wireless!
    comnet have analog gsm and cdma, plus there is no signs of them shutting of analog. good for people in the new mexican desert.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    In Philadelphia the A side is now off. So AT&T was right behind Verizon in shutting analog down.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    so now what am i gona do with all these analog phones? mabey i'll find a way to make them useful again. right now its only good for setting off hospital equipment and hitting people with it. ( :badidea: )
     
  4. RadioFoneGuy

    RadioFoneGuy Powered by HTC FUZE
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Everywhere.
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6103, 6010, 2260
    Wireless Provider(s):
    The death star formally known as Cell One.
    Cellular One (Dobson) is now barring calls.

    Message is "welcome to cellular One the number you dialled cant be completed at this time, please dial 611 to talk to a local representative."
     
  5. GemmaKnight

    GemmaKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still picking up an analog signal with Verizon using my LG LX-125 here in Springfield, MA. :)
     
  6. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    i wished i lived there :(
     
  7. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    You can turn them into Bluetooth accessories like I did... ;)

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Buickman

    Buickman Gearhead/Gadget freak
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Bye Bye MN, Hello Cali
    My Phone:
    BB 9550, Moto Droid
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon on both phones
    AT&T turned off TDMA in Minneapolis now. AMPS is kind of strange though. I have 2 phones that won't see it anymore, but I have old TDMA V60 that picks up a "roam" analog signal when I turn it on, so I don't know where that is coming from, because VZW turned their's off last week.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Here in Seattle as of Yesterday (3-5) analog networks on both AT&T and Verizon show no service. Also AT&T's IS-136 "TDMA" network does not show either.
     
  10. speer320

    speer320 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    My Phone:
    Samsung A870/Siren
    Wireless Provider(s):
    cricKet
    every thing is off in portland inculding TDMA
     
  11. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    got any pics of them? i dont think im gona make em into bluetooth because i dont have bluetooth compatible devices. however, i aint gona let 3 watts of power goto waste...
    1- turn them into a portable amplifier for my cdma phone
    2- make them into radios that can scan almost all fm frequencies. (in testmode the microtac can scan all analog cellular channels)
    3- spend a whole lot of money to build my own little analog network, yea right :rolleyes:
    4 - somehow get them operating on cdma.

    man, i need to get a life instead of trying to get a 15 yr old phone to work with cdma.
     
  12. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Could it be that the 2 other phones are single band phones, and the V60 was a dual band model?

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. shango

    shango Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Death Valley
    My Phone:
    M800, v266, w315
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    It is very strange to have an electronic device that works perfectly, but is totally worthless junk. Never to be usable again. I have 5 bag phones and im trying to figure out the right thing to do with them. (I still have 6 months with Alltel) Recycle the electronics, keep the bags for something else. Try and sell the whole lot on ebay hoping someone in Mexico can use them. Or just dump them in the trash.
    There must be millions of these things going to waste. But its nothing compared to the number of analog TV sets that are going to be disposed of next year.
     
  14. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    well, i might find a use for old analog phones. one of the best uses is to use it as a portable amplifier. i'll explain later.
    as for TVs, it will be crazy, there will be A- an increase in cable satalite users B- landfill over crowding leading to on of the most significant envierment disasters ever, (aka lead mercury and other stuff getting in to the water supply) C- goverment relises that it would be a bad idea to put over 200 million TVs in the dark, leaving mass mobs of angry pissedoff people. or D- goverment wont enforce laws and analog with still be avalible. remember the incandesent lightbulb scare? it was to make us all use cfl's but incandesent are still being produced! hell, incandents are gona be around for a while, in a house enviorment, how the heck would u use one of those cfls in a frige or oven? what about 4 watt night lights and easy bake ovens? gona be alot of pissed of toddlers if that happend!
     
  15. GemmaKnight

    GemmaKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    Scratch that! As of last night I can no longer access analog roaming on either my Samsung-A960 or LG-LX125. Oh well. :)
     
  16. decyph3r

    decyph3r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Update: It's dead as of this morning in Murphy/Plano, TX. No more Analog service. No signal whatsoever.
     
  17. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    If you literally meant dump them in the trash that's irresponsible. There are lots of things in the electronics that can foul the environment. It's really no different than dumping an old CRT monitor in the trash.
     
  18. walkguru

    walkguru Wireless Guru
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,084
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    My Phone:
    iphone 3gs 32black
    Wireless Provider(s):
    cingular,family plan w/4 lines
    does anyone know if okc is shut off yet?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410

    OMG!!! I am lauging my butt off right now. The thought of baking cookies in an easy bake oven with a CFL bulb... I wonder how many days it would take to bake? I have seen CFL bulbs for night lights before though...

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    As for the TV thing; Cable or Dish is the best way out. OR just buy a converter box like we did in the 60's ( I was a kid) when the government added UHF bands. KEEP YOUR TV's People!

    CFL's are great in some places like outside flood lights and post lamps where they last a very long time even in the cold North East.

    Just junk your old analog phones. Its over!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Like this???

    [​IMG]

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    What; No UHF converter?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    That TV hadn't been used in years. My grandmother was just using it as a piece of furniture. I would assume the set top box was thrown out long ago. I do still have the original remote control for the TV though. Its rare to have a 50's TV with a factory remote. I have been debating on whether I should fix it, or have it converted to color. Fixed for the purist in me, but if it were color I'd use it every day.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    The original remotes were mechanical not electronic. They emitted a clicking sound hence called a clicker. It had springs and worked like a tuning fork. Is it one of those?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    No, this is older than that... There is a large ribbon cable that you were supposed to slip under the rug and place the remote on your endtable. There is a motor behind the tuning knob, and when you push the button to change channels the motor turns the dial. There are also small buttons on the inside of the dial. Pushing the button beside the 2 caused the dial to turn until channel 2 was tuned. GE called it "Power Tuning". You were free from ever having to actually turn the dial ever again. I remember asking my grandfather about the TV before he died. He bought it brand new in 1958 for $600 I think. Anyway, you could have bought a new car for that much.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Take the guts out and put an LCD TV inside! Retro chic! You might appreciate this, but I've seen people get the old wooden wall phones and put a hinged door on the front and put a modern phone like a 2554 inside it!
     
  27. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Ummm, most of the wooden wall phones already had a hinged front panel... all you really had to do was take out the magneto and the other internals. It was really popular in the 60's & 70's. I've seen fake oak wall phone housings curiously just big enough to accomodate a 554...

    Anyway the color conversion is just that... You take the guts out and replace them with a high quality flat panel monitor. There are a few shops that specialize in this type of conversion. There is a guy in Jersey that does it, I think he quoted me $600 or $700 to do a complete conversion.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  28. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    mabey its just me, but ive notice cdma 850 degrading as well. every one i knew on 850 notices this as well. i got my call droped 5 times today. one theory is that the analog signals carried the cdma ones ferther any one else notice this? as for that old tv, its fairly easy to repair. i have a 1969 B&W Tv that still works
     
  29. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Yeah, I just haven't messed with it. I tried to turn it on, the sound works perfectly, but the picture was not very watchable. I figure after 50 years it probably needs a cap job at the bare minimum.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    Could it be somethiing in your area? CDMA service has not changed here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice