Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Is your local Analog cellular network turned off yet?

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Jay2TheRescue, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. shango

    shango Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Death Valley
    My Phone:
    M800, v266, w315
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I live by the LAX airport in LA and I still got a weak att analog signal at home. Its not like it was, this one is very crunchy sounding. Almost cant hear over the static, but I can still place calls on it. No where else in the city, only in the area of the airport. Funkacydal.......
     
  2. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    so there is still hope:D
     
  3. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Not much... I haven't picked up a analog signal in a long time except when up on some mountain tops.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    sure, crush my hopes and dreams
     
  5. COtech

    COtech Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    My Phone:
    Sam. Galaxy SII Skyrocket
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility
    I charged up a MicroTac battery, and checked with both a TDMA Motorola M-77a and a CDMA SC-725. I found no analog in Memphis on cellular A-band (Verizon) or B-band (AT&T).at my home.

    COtech
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. R11290

    R11290 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Louisiana
    My Phone:
    Apple IPhone 3G S
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Well the ALLTEL analog network here (Northwest LA) seems to be much worse quality wise. I turned on my old Kyocera with analog to check it out.

    There is still a full analog signal, but where previously a call was pretty clear on ALLTEL's analog, now all I get when I try to place an analog call is a whole lot of buzzing/static and I can only faintly hear the American Roaming Network message through all the static and buzzing.

    I guess they're ramping it down for the March 31 shut off date here?
     
  7. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    Many people are reporting no analog. Some are detecting far off weak signal. In the North perhaps some are left on in Canada and In the South some in Mexico. With the local analog going down, many radios (aka phones) are able to hear farther away sites.

    As the air clears of the powerful analog transmissions, at least for a time the rf pollution should decline making for a better environment for the digital transmissions on the same and adjacent frequencies. Anyone agree or disagree?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    USCC is all analog only on SID 1643 in the Pee Dee region of SC.
    I was just down there earlier today.
    There is absolutely no digital USCC in their entire SC coverage area.

    The only digital CDMA available is Alltel, from north of Darlington to Chesterfield.
    No Sprint, No Verizon, and USCC is all analog-only on SID 1643,
    so it would be stupid to shut it down, there is no digital in place at all in the entire SID region.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Analog man

    Analog man Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    california
    My Phone:
    Motorola timeport p8767
    Wireless Provider(s):
    pageplus
    by law the must have digital in the same area as analog before they shut analog of, but the fcc hasn't been inforcing that like they should.
     
  10. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Alltel's analog signal here in Gaffney & Upstate South Carolina is still on and working like always (SID 114 & 116),
    even though they said it would be shut off by yesterday 3-31.

    Also, US Cellular's analog is also still on and working in Western North Carolina.
    Just yesterday evening, I went up to Thicketty Mountain here in Gaffney,
    where I had a 10 minute successful, clear call on analog USCC from a tower near Forest City, NC, 15 miles away.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. harry_from_vt

    harry_from_vt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Verizon analog is still on in some areas in Vermont too.
     
  12. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Really? I thought Verizon was off nationwide within a few days of the original sunset date...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,003
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
    Wirelessly posted (Quint's Pearl: BlackBerry8130/4.3.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

    I wonder how long will Alltel to turn their analog towers in these parts. Yesterday was the announced shut down day but it is still up and running.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Today I powered up the DynaTac and had no service on A or B. Looks like AT&T finally stopped transmitting that dead carrier signal.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. harry_from_vt

    harry_from_vt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dialed *611 again today and it said welcome to verizon wireless, I even checked my voicemail using analog. For some reason analog doesn't work here first thing in the morning, but in the middle of the day i can connect with no problem.
     
  16. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    I was just visiting some relatives in the Greenville, SC area (Mauldin).
    I put my phone on analog only, and I found 2 different analog signals,
    one was Alltel (SID 116 on AMPS B).

    The other was an unknown dead analog signal (SID 117 on AMPS A)
    I just looked on Mountain Wireless and it says 117 belongs to AT&T TDMA for Rochester, NY.

    This is unusual, 117 was never there, if Verizon was still up, it would be SID 139.
    Verizon owns the 800 mhz carrier A for this area, but they shutdown analog (on SID 139).

    SID 117 was only in the Mauldin, SC area, but it's a dead signal, I couldn't even connect to it.

    Anyone know why it seems analog SIDs are being used in multiple locations.
    or any other info (owner) / or why this signal is all of a sudden there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Skip? I can remember when I was younger I had an old 5 watt CB radio installed in my car. In most instances it didn't broadcast more than 5 miles. Once I was in the middle of nowhere and came up on the scene of an accident. I got on channel 9 to report it, and a Sherriff's deputy from a county almost 100 miles away replied back.

    In another instance my sister got married in the mountains, about 60 miles out of my "Home area" I should have been roaming, but occasionally my TDMA StarTac would find a home tower.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. nmt

    nmt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW - But not by choice
    Alltel is going to remove the Lucent equipment and leave the antennas & lines in place, in most cases here in NV. These will be used for future expansion or spares.

    Curt
    Nevada Microwave & Tower
     
    #318 nmt, Apr 4, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2008
  19. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    Right. As I mentioned somewhere in the forums, that as sites are shut down the air clears so to speak and far away stations (sites) become readable because of the lack of clutter. Make sense?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6620
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/at&t
    The term you are looking for is "noise floor".

    Its the same reason CDMA starts having problems when more people are using it. As more transmitters are on the "noise" increases. As the Noise climbs the weaker the signal becomes as the phone is not able to weed its call out of the background noise of other calls.
    Analog at the towers was always on and transmitting even if a call was not in progress. Digital technologies like TDMA and GSM burst transmit so they are not as effected becasue at any given time the noise floor is lower then CDMA.


    I'm "in the Business" I was installing phones when half duplex hands free was a $250 option.

    Its been a wild ride seeing the end of IMTS, the rise and fall of AMPS, The rapid install of GSM for the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta and now all of it turned off.


    "TDMA Sunset"

    AMPS and TDMA digital was turning off about 6am 3/5/08 and completely turned off in the SE US about 10am for AT&T. The towers were still powered till 3/13 but the control channels were idle not allowing phones to register.

    Yesterday I sent a semi full of TDMA and AMPS spares off and its "final" destination the shredder where the base metals will be recovered. AT'T's cell site power bill dropped by 3/4. Making a call in a cell site was difficult at best with the shear volume of all the cooling fans on the Lucent gear without a Bones head set...now its no big deal that all the Lucent cooling fans are off.

    Strange. :loony:
     
  21. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    error deleted
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    Grimreaper;wrote The term you are looking for is "noise floor". Actually I wasn't looking, I was trying to break it down.

    See my signature below as to IMTS. By the way I liked IMTS. You explanation is very informative. Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6620
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/at&t

    20 years ago I was dragging IMTS and piggy backs out of trunks of cars like there was no tomorrow. It was a pretty neat system if you didn't mind anybody listening to your call like it was a old party line. LOL . Always good for a hoot with the kid to get them to touch the antenna while it was in a call. :eek: :D

    I had one customer that had a 450SL Benz. that had a IMTS unit in it piggy backed to 2 Way his construction company used.. I replaced it with a Motorola 3000 with full duplex hands free,. So it had two of those 45lb transmitters in it. Basically he had about enough room for a small carry on in the trunk.

    I charged him $180 labor and he paid $1300 for the phone. The rear of that car came up a full 3 inches when I dragged those two beasts out. He could not belive the size of the transmitter when I got done. :lmao:
     
  24. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    $1300? What a deal I paid 4100 for my 450 Pulsar 2 installed. And at least 200 to move it car to car. The only thing I have left is the cable. That is some heavy duty wire that went to the battery. And right, it was a party line and that was fun too. On the pulsars I had the " line grabber option" so I would not have to keep pressing the switch hook to get a green light. That Motorola trunk unit lasted years unlike todays radios.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    That 450 Pulsar system was top notch stuff. Oddly enough, up until about 6 months ago I had a complete 450 Pulsar base station in my garage, fully functional. Best part about it was I got it for free! Now it lives on, slightly modified, as an amateur radio repeater.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    I have a photo from the Motorola Archives of the Pulsar yet I don't know how to paste it here.Any advise other than the link above? Thanks


    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #326 Jerro, Apr 8, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2008
  27. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    Thanks to Jay, for posting my photo (credit to Motorola who emailed it to me). The phone head on the left ( with a dial) was my first in 1977 and the head unit in the center ( was pulse dial) I converted to in 1981. It was black not the gray shown. It had a external speaker and a line grabber circuit to hunt for a free channel. And of course it was analog.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  28. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    My uncle's dad worked for Xerox years ago, and in the 70's he had a prototype mobile fax machine installed in his car. That would be something cool to look at now.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  29. Jerro

    Jerro Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Phila area
    My Phone:
    LG EV 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZw
    They had them, the question was just how fast they could transmit.

    By the way. Is it possible to cut and paste photos directly to posts? I tried, no luck.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    No, you either have to upload the pic as an attachment to the thread, or upload it to an outside server (like Photobucket), and link it with tags.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice