Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Is there a way to set Waze as the default navigation for the Google app?

Discussion in 'ANDROID Phones, Tablets and Devices' started by Jay2TheRescue, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,393
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    So, I finally got the Android update on my phone, and I've been experimenting with the Andriod app. Does anyone know if there is a way to set Waze as the navigation app that the Google app uses? Google owns Waze, so this should be possible somehow.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. KevinJames

    KevinJames WA's 1st retired mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    4,044
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Central Valley NorCA
    My Phone:
    Samsung S7-Edge
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T & Verizon
  3. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,393
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. KevinJames

    KevinJames WA's 1st retired mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    4,044
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Central Valley NorCA
    My Phone:
    Samsung S7-Edge
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T & Verizon
    Bummer. You know, though, I thought I had read that Waze features/services/functions were now incorporated into Google Maps. I tried to find the article, but no luck.
     
  5. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,018
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Samsung S20 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Altice Mobile
    I've been meaning to install Waze - this thread prompted me to do it today. (y)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Scrumhalf and Jay2TheRescue like this.
  6. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,393
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Google Maps does use Waze data as far as traffic speeds and such goes. Problem is that Waze reads street names correctly. In my area Google Maps refers to almost all roads by the state route number, not the actual road name, so the voice guided directions can be confusing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice