Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

I'm a cell hunting noob

Discussion in 'Cell Tower Hunting Club' started by MarkyD, Sep 28, 2010.

1. MarkyD

MarkyD New Member

hearing of 700mhz LTE being deployed in the Oklahoma City metro has really piqued my interest in finding cell sites and identifying them. I've been working with an engineer to improve service at my place of employment. It used to be great, but has deteriorated substantially. He sent me this list of things he has proposed to his RF team:

Down tilt cell 2 gamma that is overshooting into this area.

(this I get - an antenna needs to be downpointed to avoid the signal hitting this area.)

Remove down tilt from Cell 42 that currently has 6 degrees to give better penetration into the south area of campus.

(this I get as well - I think that this is the closest tower and should be dominant, but I'm seeing constant switching between 4-5 different sites since all are weak.)

Change antennas on Cell 129 beta that currently has swedcom 60 degree antennas to something more along the pattern of Cell 38 that is covering the north part of the campus.

(Questions on this one: What does "beta" mean in this case? A tower that is in testing? I'd assume that the 60 degree antennas are narrow?)

Change azimuth or antennas on Cell 135 to something with more narrow beams being that this sites coverage is not desired in this area due to distance and it already has about 6 degrees down tilt.

(pretty sure I understand...)

Augment Spans to serving sectors to improve download throughput.

(does this mean adding additional antennas to the site that serves this area?)

In the area, we're seeing downstream speeds of 300-400kbps with upload always being close to 1mbps. (EVDO Rev. A).