Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

I Need Help. My 8000 Doesn't Receive a Signal!!

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Gamer03, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Looking at the PRL, I stand corrected, Verizon only includes free roaming on Sprint in Phoenix at least, and I didn't find anything about Alltel being included in AZ...my bad, Larry.
     
  2. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yes according to sources I've read on the various forums Verizon doesn't include roaming on Alltel in Phoenix (which also includes Northern, AZ, Grand Canyon, Flagstaff, etc). In fact I think Bill Radio reported that they eliminated the ability to force roaming (for those who knew how to do it) with their latest PRL. Since Verizon doesn't seem to be that strong in Northern AZ I think that's a bad move.
     
  3. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    You can still force roam by using NAM2, this is what I will do on my no roam AC plan. They smartly did take away the Auto A/B option to make it a little harder to force carriers to roam on, but it certainly is still possible. Users on the old AC plans that have roaming have reported not being charged roaming for using Alltel's network around the Grand Canyon.
     
  4. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    These last few posts have been very interesting to me. Mostly because they relate to Arizona. I am surprised that Verizon is doing all these things to prohibit roaming on Alltel, but it does make financial sense for them...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Yeah it's only my phone.

    And the phone I got is brand new and I can't switch it out again since they will give me a refurb. phone next time.

    Is their such a thing as the system/tower not recognizing my phone?

    If so, how does a problem like this get fixed?

    Thanks for your help Andy.

    I appreciate it. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I think now it's really time to call Tech Support. Tell them the problem, they should be able to reset the switch with your phone or something...they will help you if you get the right rep...Sorry you have to go through something like this...again, but it definitely has something to do with your account/number.
     
  7. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    Thanks again Andy for all of your help.

    I will give Verizon a call either today or definitely tomorrow.

    How would my account or number effect my phone's reception?

    Thanks for your help. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I should mention that both of our Verizon number's were ported over from Sprint in case this has anything to do with why the tower won't recognize my phone.

    I am going to give Verizon a call in a little while and get connected to their tech. support and explain to them what is wrong with this phone and how our other 8000 doesn't have this problem.

    I will let you know what I found out about the situation.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    You must be getting sick of having to transfer all the numbers from one phone to the other! Or have you had Verizon use a cable to transfer the phone numbers each time...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    I called Verizon and told the rep. the problem and then told him that I read online (WA....but didn't say which site) that I have heard that since one of our phones gets a good signal, the other doesn't get a good signal.....that I heard that sometimes a person's Verizon account/number could effect the service....and he didn't have a clue what I was talking about.

    He said to update the PRL and then go back into your area where you get a good signal and see if that makes a difference. If that doesn't help, then he said that the tower could be at fault and if that is the case, he said to call Verizon back and they will correct the problem.

    I can't check my sister's phone since she is in Orlando until Friday night, so I will have to wait and see how her phone behaves in the same spot before I call Verizon back (more than likely on Saturday morning).

    I will let everyone know what the outcome is on Friday night/Saturday morning.

    Is their a particular level of tech. support I can speak with that knows exactly what is going on? If so, who/what should I ask for?

    Thanks for anyone's help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    Something weird is happening.

    I tried to call *228 and the phone connected at 0 bars....then shot up to three bars like usual. :confused:

    So I went ahead and updated the PRL at my house and hit ok to restart the phone.

    The phone still displays 0 bars. :(

    If our other phone does this (can't test it until my sister is back in town tomorrow night) then is the tower at fault?

    The thing is I call a number......wait for the phone to connect (10-20 seconds) and then my phone shoots up to 3 bars. Is this normal? Or could this circumstance (if my sister's phone does this same) be due to the tower that needs to be fixed?

    Thanks in advance for anyone's help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    I can't remember if you mentioned it earlier, but are you missing calls because of this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I transferred the numbers myself by reprogramming them.

    I will wait until this weekend to do the rest of them.

    I just finished a 6 page essay for my history class (even though I am on Spring Break) so I am ahead of the game.

    So right now I am just surfing since I have nothing better to do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Ahh yes, I remember the days of surfing the internet when I had nothing to do in college. Now granted that was in 1998 and over dialup.... :)

    My fun was downloading from Napster and FTP sites for MP3's. At the time, when I would get a connection of 5 kbps, I thought I was flying!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Wow.....:lol:

    Now I have a connection of 54 Mbps on my router.....but I am not technically connected at that speed. ;)

    Like I said I am done for now with my homework for break.

    Tomorrow I will probably go see Hostage with Bruce Willis and test out Verizon in our Hollywood 20 theater.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Around these parts, we have Cox Communications. We are connected at 4 mbps...not to shabby!!!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I fully concur, my AZ brotha!!! Dial-up sux!!! :eek:
     
  18. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    So is Comcast (they recently upgraded everyone to 4 Mbps).....but a wireless connection is different from the cable modem connection (even though our desktop sends out the wireless signal ;)).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    This could be part of the reason it's hard to get in touch with anyone knowledgable over the phone....

     
  20. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Level 2 or 3 tech, can't remember, but they are usually of a lot of help, if you can get a hold of them.
     
  21. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    Thanks Andy for your help.

    I will have to test out my sister's 8000 when she gets home tonight and see if it does the same thing as my phone.

    Either way, I will call back Verizon on Saturday.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    let us know...good luck!
     
  23. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Will do Andy.

    Thanks for all of your help. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Anytime. :)
     
  25. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I think that Verizon might be working on the tower right now or doing something because now the phone fluctuates where before it would constantly show zero bars.

    So I think that Verizon is working on the tower.

    I will keep a eye on it over the next day or two and if it still doesn't work then I will call them and issue a trouble ticket.

    The phone now rings in areas where it wouldn't before.

    So either Verizon is working on the tower, or something weird is going on.

    If it doesn't improve by tomorrow afternoon at this time, then I will call them and issue a trouble ticket.

    BTW, what does the channel the phone uses have to do with it?

    Because my sister's phone uses channel 500 and my phone switches between channel 0450 and 0500. Does this mean that there could be two panels facing our neighborhood and she is using a different (and stronger) panel than I am?

    Thanks for your help Andy. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    I'm glad things are starting to look up! I hope they stay that way!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    :metoo:

    If not, then Verizon is going to get a call and I will have them issue a trouble ticket for the tower that serves my neighborhood after I explain the situation to them.

    Hopefully, technicians are already fixing the problem.

    The weird thing is that I noticed on my sister's phone that she uses a different channel (0500 than me.....I use 0450). She also has a different PN offset most of the time.

    So the tower could be at fault. Hopefully Andy will read this and see if my observations make sense. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  28. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Gamer, not all phones use the same channel. Again, I'm not the right person to ask, but the system assigns every phone a channel where it's normally supposed to idle on and use during a voice/data call. I think it all has to do with capacity, even though I'm not to clear on channel assignments and why they do it either, but even though your phones are using different channels, they should still be using the same PN offsets.
    Hope this makes more or less sense, I'm not sure about the whole channel thing, it was explained to me once but I didn't really get it ;)
    Hope everything works out,
    Andy
     
  29. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    The phone seems to be acting better.

    So I will give it until Monday and carefully observe my phone.

    If it still does the same thing, then I will call Verizon and explain the problem to them in detail.

    Personally, I still think the tower is at fault....but they might be working on it...

    Anyway, I will post a follow up to what happens to my problem. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I don't see how the tower could be at fault if two phones of the same model are acting differently in the same place.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice