Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Help setting up WIFI calling?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile Forum' started by rjniles, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. rjniles

    rjniles Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Georgetown,South Carolina
    My Phone:
    MOTO E4 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    We have been using the WIFI calling (UMA) feature from our home due to poor coverage in our area. I have the T-Mobile branded Linksys router and we have been using Nokia 7510 and Samsung t339 phones. It has been working well and the phones auto linked to the router when we entered the house.

    I just bought an unlocked HP iPAQ 510 Voice Messenger on eBay and have been trying to get it to work. It works over the air fine (when I am out and about) but will not link to my router via the UMA at home. The phone sees the router and shows a strong signal but will not connect. Since UMA is working with the other phones I assume the trouble is in the phone setup and not a router issue. The Home screen shows the WIFI on icon but the screen says "No service" this is the over the air indication. The screen also says "Internet calling not available".
    I assume it is something in the setup that I have not optioned correctly.

    Here are the setup options:

    Internet / private net.

    Authentication; open / shared / WPA / WPA-PSK / WPA2 / WPA2-PSK

    Data encryption: disabled / WEP / TKIP / AES

    Network key : -blank box-

    Network index: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4

    Any insight into this would be deeply appreciated.
     
  2. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
  4. rjniles

    rjniles Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Georgetown,South Carolina
    My Phone:
    MOTO E4 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
  5. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    doh! lol

    By chance, is their an app that makes UMA work on this phone. I ask because I was looking at the touch 3G a while ago which is UMA capable, but upon further reading it was done by using an app that was made by MS and Orange (EU carrier). And from the report and reviews I read the app was had major problems.
     
  6. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    2 people like this.
  7. carpetshark

    carpetshark New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this question also - we have a router from our ISP, not TMobile,
    the phone in question is an UNLOCKED Nokia C6. I'm told it does have a VOIP client built in, but the phone is so new, there just isn't too much info about it. It runs S60v5.
    Thanks
    CS
     
  8. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Reading reviews and looking at specs the C6 does not show any VOIP client preinstalled on the device. But you can download a number of VOIP clients from the Nokia OVI store to install on the C6.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice