Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

GPS Question

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by cukoz4343, Jan 17, 2009.

1. cukoz4343

cukoz4343 New Member

newbie here. I am sure its been answered before, but I am thinking of switching to Sprint since Verizon bought out Allte. I was going to get the everything plan with the BB Curve. On the GPS does it only work will on native sprint coverage? Will it work while roaming on another carrier. And is it assisted gps or true gps that I wouldn't need cell phone coverage for the gps to work??

Thanks

2. ace41690

ace41690 Junior Member

My Phone:
    HTC Hero
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    On my curve, the gps works when i am roaming on verizon. As for if it works without coverage, I've honestly never been without coverage when i tried to use it so i dont know. I know that when you start a telenav session it downloads the maps of where you are, so i think you migh need coverage of some sort.

3. budney

budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Good to know. And you are correct about the maps.

The BB Curve has assisted GPS. I know The Touch, Touch Diamond, & Touch Pro do have GPS.

4. SmArTeStChIlD421

SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member

My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    it's A-GPS that uses cell site triangulation right? not satellite GPS

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. budney

My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    correct! :)

6. ace41690

ace41690 Junior Member

My Phone:
    HTC Hero
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint