Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

ESN swap problem

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by Eli89SHO, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. Eli89SHO

    Eli89SHO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    So I swapped my pm 8200 for a MM 7400. I did the swap and did the whole remove the battery for 60 seconds thing. Still, the phones "my phone #" is the previous owners number. I do the speed dial 1 to get voicemail and it dials the phone previous number. Im lost on this one. The phone works great, but I cant access my online albums because of this problem (i think) and like I said before, I have voicemail dialing issues. Help! Anybody got any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I presume you called in to do the ESN swap? If so, the rep on the phone shoul dhave walked you through a series of programming steps that would have allowed you to change the phone number from the previous owner's number to your own. If the phone still thinks it is on the old number, the programming was not done correctly. You will neeed to call back and have them instruct you on what to do.
     
  3. Eli89SHO

    Eli89SHO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I did call them back today and they told me to turn off the phone, take the battery out for 60 seconds, then put it back in and that would "reset the system" on the phone.
     
  4. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    That won't work. Although it is possible to program the phone over the air it is not reliable. You need to manually enter your number into the phone. Only Sprint can tell you how to do this as only they have the codes necessary and unique to each phone.
     
  5. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    This is Cell Phone Customer Service 101. How can the rep not verify the programming of the phone? I do this several times a day... when performing an ESN change not for a sales rep or dealer I always make sure the phone is programmed correctly. If you don't you only generate another call and make a customer angry or frustrated.

    And why, the 2nd time, when OTA programming didn't work did they not manually walk you through reprogramming the phone?:mad:

    This makes absolutely no sense to me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Eli89SHO

    Eli89SHO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Well, I called again this morning and got it taken care of. They gave me the MSL# and I got the number set to my actuall number. Thanks all!
     
  7. lil_tipsy sanyo 8200

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valdosta Ga.
    My Phone:
    2296308957
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I sure wish someone would help me with my problem
     
  8. wheresmyfreakinpresent

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    what have they done to you?
     
  9. djcmaz

    djcmaz Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    My Phone:
    BLACKJACK / TILT
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SPRINT - (WORK PHONE)/ CINGULAR
    WE ARE TALKING ABOUT SPRINT HERE... MAKES ALOT OF SENSE...LOL
     
  10. CellGeek

    CellGeek Sprint is the BOMB!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    It does not make any sense to me because Sprint is the best cell phone service in the USA. :loony:

     
  11. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint

    I agree with you Jim.
     
  12. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (Sanyo MM 9000: Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone MM-9000/US/1.0) NetFront/3.1 MMP/2.0)

    sprint is my favorite, but i can easily understand customer service issues. just last month i was charged a termination fee despite not canceling a single line.
     
  13. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Did you make any changes to your plan? Sprint has had a glitch in their system where a termination fee will occur if the rep doesn't complete the plan change correctly on their end. Happened to me a couple of times over the years.
     
  14. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (Sanyo MM 9000: Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone MM-9000/US/1.0) NetFront/3.1 MMP/2.0)

    Yup. And like you said, all the rep has to do is remember to issue the credit at the time the plan is changed. fail to properly do their job and then the customer has to call back to take care of something that never should have been an issue.
     
  15. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    As I like to say "Their all evil". But Sprint has been the least evil of all the carriers I've been with. :D
     
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (Sanyo MM 9000: Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone MM-9000/US/1.0) NetFront/3.1 MMP/2.0)

    Now that i can agree with completely. though t mobile is not a distant second.
     
  17. wheresmyfreakinpresent

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, normally it's a matter of total incompetence on the reps part, but this time, the problem is that Sprint had a major overhaul of their account maintenance systems. Now if you call in to change your address, it will also change your coverage area, plans for all lines on your account, and your number! Way to go!!! Keep that in mind if have to call for anything! Tell them to use P2K, or go online yourself, at least until they work out the bugs. Last I checked, they haven't
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice