Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

E815 Firmware Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by jstich, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. jstich

    jstich New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    Does anyone know if Alltel is planning on providing a firmware upgrade for the E815? It has enough bugs to necessitate one. If one was made available, how would I go about updating?
     
  2. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I'm not sure about a update on the e815, but if there was one all you have to do is take to a Alltel store and they can do it there.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kjmattson

    kjmattson Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    What kind of bugs are we talkin about here?
     
  4. jstich

    jstich New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    Well, currently I'm having a problem with the alarm. I set it, make sure its enabled, make sure the ringer is active on my phone, AM/PM, everything... but it WON'T RING!

    When you plug in the charger while the phone is on, it will quickly lose service and shut off completely.

    When you make a call, often you will hear nothing though it says connected. You have to hang up on the person you call and embarassingly call them back.

    The voice dial will sometimes forget about your request. I'll speak the name and it will say connecting, but in 1 sec the phone goes back to its home screen.

    These types of problems aren't much different from what I've experienced with my old Moto T720. Still I'd think Moto would have fixed them by now.
     
  5. kjmattson

    kjmattson Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I used to have those issues with the T720 as well. Thankfully, I have not seen them on my E815 yet...knock on wood.
     
  6. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Same here. I have had a few updetes on the V3c and don't want to start on the e815. But I never had a problem with the T720. I guess I was just lucky on that one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Iron if you have a V3 then new software corrected all the old issues. I did not like the second release software it was horrible. The e815 has a new flash coming that is supposed to correct the alarm issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I have what I've been told is the 3rd s/w update for the v3, but it still has bug problems. At least it don't text for days by itself anymore. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    what issue are you having? mine works perfect
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    when charging the battery the lights stay on. That's about it. No big deal.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. jstich

    jstich New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    New issue: I hit play on the voicenotes but I hear nada. It's these little inconsistencies that make me wonder how haywire the programming for the phone really is.
     
  12. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    you mean like the display on the outside and inside screen being on but more dim than normal?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    moto and kyocrea phones always seem to have software issues when they are first released.

    moto phones are awesome phones and i always wait til we have had them a few months before i buy because i know this. once the bugs have worked out they are awesome.

    as far as kyro phones, they used to be great but when the 5135 came out they went downhill. the exception to the rule that i have seen is the new strobe. i played with it well before it was released and subjected it to my abuse and IT HELD UP!! and got signal in weak areas.. awesome for a kyro. i was amased.

    I may work for Alltel but being that i was a tech, im still very critical of phones and will give an honest opinion if i think one sucks or is good. The E815 will be great once moto fixes the bugs in the software. That is the only thing i dislike about us using their software and not our own. but, at least you can do everything that the maker intended you to do with the phone unlike some carriers who will restrict functions.

    Advice, on moto phones, wait about 6 months from release and it all will work great.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    And you may save a few $$$$$ too.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yes. On the 1 s/w verison I had the lights where off. Why is that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    The lights should be on when charging and set to dim. That is how the phone should work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Ironwalt

    Ironwalt Junior Member
    Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NLR, Arkansas
    My Phone:
    IPhone5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Oh, that is good to know. I was thinking that this was something new due to the s/w b/c the last one stayed dark when charging.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. DonVito

    DonVito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    i just got a new e815 a couple days ago since i broke my last one. i had the problem of it turning off sometimes when i was trying to charge it but it wasnt to bad. but the thing i noticed on this new e815 is that it wont dim the backlight when its charging i always would wait for it to dim before i go to sleep ive tried to change the backlight settings and everything notheing helps. i am just wondering if this is a problem or if it will cause the backlight to die quicker or what. it doesnt bother me while im sleeping so its not a big deal in that asspect
     
  19. AlltelTech

    AlltelTech New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    I believe a software update has been released for this phone recently although to my knowledge The only fix was battery drain issues
     
  20. yooper78

    yooper78 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    AlltelTech is correct there is a s/w upgrade that can be done on the E815 at a store, but to my knowledge it is only to fix battery life issues
     
  21. bcrab

    bcrab New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Idaho
    My Phone:
    E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, US Cellular
    What is the new version? I have 8720 05.05.00 on E815.
     
  22. ndtoddman

    ndtoddman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Dakota
    My Phone:
    Many
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Mine did this, I found that it was the charger. I tried a different motorola charger from another phone and it didn't do it. That was 6 months ago and I have had no problems since.
     
  23. AZO

    AZO Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    My Phone:
    Kyocera Slider
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I have 8720 05.05.03

    Lynn
     
  24. budone

    budone Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar, MI
    My Phone:
    E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Lynn, Is this a brand new phone or did you have the firmware upgraded at Alltel?
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice