Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Does the 6015i work in Australia

Discussion in 'NOKIA' started by lj138, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. lj138

    lj138 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Hi everyone

    I am moving to Australia, and I don't know whether to get rid of my Verizon 6015i before I go, or take it on the off chance that my Australian GSM SIM (that I have from when I lived there before) will work in it. I don't even know whether it's the same network. I know it's GSM in Australia, I don't know what Verizon is here in the US.

    Does anyone know?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. COtech

    COtech Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    My Phone:
    Sam. Galaxy SII Skyrocket
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility
    Telstra operates both a 900/1800 MHz GSM network that your Austrailian SIM might be for, and an 800 MHz CDMA 1xEV-DO network like Verizon's. Here is their collection of coverage maps.

    I'd say, sell your 6015i here. You could email Telstra, and ask if they would activate it first. I remember reports of one or two persons who wanted to buy prepaid service on Telstra using their CDMA phones' NAM2, and didn't get it.

    COtech
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lj138

    lj138 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Thanks very much, COtech, very helpful information. I think I will offload the 6015i here. My Aust SIM is for the 900MHz GSM network and I'm with Vodafone, who don't have a CDMA network. CDMA is not so popular in Australia and the coverage isn't fantastic, so I'm better off sticking with GSM over there.

    Many thanks for your response.
     
  4. Chinasaur

    Chinasaur Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8330
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    You had better unload it here. The 6015 is a CDMA phone..not GSM.

    Good phone though :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice