Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Did you have Password Problems here?

Discussion in 'The WirelessAdvisor Community' started by Shore, Oct 13, 2014.

  1. Shore

    Shore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi -

    I'm trying to figure out why some of you had password problems on these new forums.

    PLEASE - If you had password problems when you first logged into the new forums post a quick note here.
    Did you get a 'Wrong Password' error when you were sure your password was correct?
    (I had the problem myself.)
    This will help figure out any common denominator.

    I think we've fixed everyone that wrote to me, but I worry about the people who don't contact me a just go away.

    Thanks.

    (Oops, I just noticed I used a test account instead of my account to post this message ~ JFB :confused:)
     
    #1 Shore, Oct 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2014
  2. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
    Yep. Ultimately I ended up resetting the password via the forum link.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    10,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Ditto!

    I then changed it back to my original.


    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
    One better: I reset to my original directly. It took.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    charlyee likes this.
  5. dmapr

    dmapr Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    1. First login, no problem (using previously saved cookie)
    2. Second login, invalid password — not from a cookie
    3. Reset password (same as Quint, went straight for the old one)
    4. Had to log in again on the computer where the cookie was saved, no problem there
     
  6. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,205
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    784
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Simple Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO)
    dmapr - Good info. To clarify it for me; You had no problems at all after the reset, correct?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dmapr

    dmapr Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    JFB -- nope, one reset was all it took. No issues since.
     
  8. Eileen89

    Eileen89 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    326
    I'm having a password problem while logging into WA using Safari on my iPad Air and iPhone 6. It did work the first time but not the second. I will try using my regular computer browser later a see if what Dmapr will work for me as well. I can log in and post just fine using Tapatalk, though.
     
  9. Eileen89

    Eileen89 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    326
    I tried logging in on my computer and it would not allow me to. I put the correct password in 3 times and it said it was wrong. Can't change my password from Tapatalk.

    Any ideas how I can log in from a computer so I can fix this password issue?
     
  10. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,205
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    784
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Simple Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Eileen89 likes this.
  11. Eileen89

    Eileen89 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    326
    Thanks Joe! I have another password and I am now able to log in from Safari. :)
     
  12. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,205
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    784
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Simple Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO)
    OK, I think I found password problem and the problem is... ME! :rolleyes::mad:

    Here is what I think has been happening. I use a password manager (LastPass) for all my logins. To Admin the forums you have login twice and then the Admin login times out after 15 min or so of inactivity. Without the password manager to autofill the login forms, it is a real pain.

    Anyway when I go into a member's profile to fix something, LastPass was autofilling my password into the box for the member's password. (If it wasn't just dots I might have noticed this.) Then when I hit save, the member's password is changed to my password.

    I have managed to change the LastPass settings, so I hopefully won't be inadvertently changing people's passwords any more. :unsure:

    Eileen - Sorry, I do think I changed your password in trying to figure this out. Please use the reset link again or send me a msg.

    Joe
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Eileen89 likes this.
  13. Eileen89

    Eileen89 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    326
    Lol, yes Joe, I do have to reset my password again. Glad you figured out what the problem is, though. :D
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice