Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Commnet selling Mountain City (TN) license to VZW

Discussion in 'Southern US Wireless Forum' started by roamer1, Oct 15, 2006.

  1. roamer1

    roamer1 In Memoriam
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,749
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Springs, GA
    My Phone:
    Palm Treo 680
    Wireless Provider(s):
    lots of orange, a little Little Rock blue
    This was long, long overdue...VZW will finally have licenses for every single county in TN.

    http://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsApp/ApplicationSearch/applMain.jsp?applID=3663778

    I'll miss telling people about the crazy backhaul from Mountain City to Yuma, AZ...now all I can talk about is Winchester, VA to Louisville, KY (Nextel Partners, assuming Sprint Nextel eating Partners doesn't change that.) :lmao:

    Given this and the recent deal with Cingular for Sussex County, NJ, I don't think we're finished seeing Commnet sell off territory...I suspect we'll see them dump more areas where most/all roaming is from one carrier (namely Lake Isabella, CA, where VZW is pretty much the only carrier that roams on Commnet; Cingular and T-Mobile both have native coverage and Sprint and Alltel roam on Cingular AMPS -- Sprint generally avoids Commnet and Alltel doesn't roam on them at all), areas where there is little to no traffic at all these days (Florida Keys, where all four majors have native coverage...I bet the Keys license lands up with Alltel), and areas Cingular now wishes the blue entity hadn't dumped off (Durango, CO/Taos, NM).

    -SC
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 roamer1, Oct 15, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
  2. AndThenScottSays...

    AndThenScottSays... Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    My Phone:
    V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile (prepaid)
    They switched Tennessee out of Arizona? I can't believe maintaining that would be cheaper than just putting in a new switch. Wow.
     
  3. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Comparing the costs of fiber/per month versus a switch I'd take the fiber. Average CDMA switch costs between 3-5million depending on the options. Not to mention the custom building and the staff for it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. roamer1

    roamer1 In Memoriam
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,749
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Springs, GA
    My Phone:
    Palm Treo 680
    Wireless Provider(s):
    lots of orange, a little Little Rock blue
    A switch dedicated to one or two cell sites would be overkill... :)

    -SC
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Is that all they had out there? Wow.. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. AndThenScottSays...

    AndThenScottSays... Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    My Phone:
    V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile (prepaid)
    Wow, now that I didn't know! Makes it seem a little more reasonable now.
     
  7. BillRadio

    BillRadio Wireless Consultant
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Denver
    My Phone:
    Motorola
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, Sprint
    And their only GSM switch is in Castle Rock, CO. I have been roaming on Commnet more and more with T-Mobile phones...and less & less on Verizon phones. Verizon has been using their new (Qwest) PCS spectrum to stop roaming on Commnet.

    Commnet gets good roaming revenue from sites like Taos/Farmington and I hope they can keep it. It is more likely they will offer roaming to T-Mobile than Cingular would. T-Mo has sites in most towns, but not in surrounding communities.

    Commnet also have the advantage of offering service in communities where they have no license. Many carriers contract w/Commnet to serve small towns, so they could survive with nearly no spectrum of their own.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice