Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Choosing area code for prepaid

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by JasonWells, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    I would like to get a prepaid tracfone or virgin mobile phone. I was wondering if the area code for the phone number that gets assigned can be chosen by me, or if it is the area code where the phone is purchased or activated. Thanks a lot. I found a great sale and was wanting to get one.
     
  2. Fire14

    Fire14 Easy,Cheap & Sleazy
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,446
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Union County NJ
    My Phone:
    EnV
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    The area codes & phone # are usually setup by where you live, so when you call & give them your address, that is the area code they will give you.
     
  3. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,895
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Area Codes are normally set up by where you live as Fire already mentioned.

    There are some exceptions, if there is more than one area code in the vicinity then you can choose which one you prefer based on which area code you will mostly be using the phone in, or atleast I was allowed to. :)

    Where the phone is purhased/activated should not matter, I usually buy phones in area code 414 and ask them to give me 262. I have done this with T-Mobile, Verizon, & Cingular without a problem.

    Hope this helps :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ZaphodB

    ZaphodB Signal Go Down De Hole...
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    OC (USA) / 77 (FR)
    My Phone:
    LG VX5600
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon(US) Orange(FR)
    Yeah... in SD they'd just give you a 605 area code without asking, unless you live on the border (close to MN, say) you could pick the other state's area code. Here in LA they just ask, because there are like 13 area codes within 50 miles... so when I activated a T-Mo-to-go phone they just said, "714? Or...?"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice