Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

SOUTH U.S. -- Choosing a 3G internet provider for my smartphone

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Glebun, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Hi everyone!
    I'm from Ukraine but i'm moving to US for about a year, and I want to stay connected from my smartphone. I plan to buy an HTC Touch pro2 unlocked from ebay, so I'll be able to use it when I return to Ukraine. All I need is cheap 3g internet. For voice communications I'm going to use Skype, it's a lot cheaper, and I don't need any contracts. What can you suggest?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Your only 2 real choices are AT&T or T-Mobile with an unlocked phone. TMO's coverage still isn't as good as AT&T's, so unless you plan to stick close to the cities you will have to get AT&T.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Well, I'm going to live in Wichita Falls all the time.
    Could you please be more specific and give me some links to the plans I need?
     
  4. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 RadioRaiders, Jun 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 2, 2010
  5. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    didnt notice any mentions of 3G internet for smartphones in the prepaid plans. Am I doing it wrong?
     
  6. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    but it says "laptop, netbook, or PC card", nothing about smartphones. and I read on their website that I have to pay additional 30 bucks if I use smartphone. If that plan above is compatible with smartphones, will I have to pay 30$ more?

    there must be some cheaper solution anyway...60$ for 5GB is way too much...
     
  8. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    In Ukraine don't you pay about $25 per month for 1GB of data? Or do you have something cheaper?
    «GPRS-Internet» tariffs
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
  10. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Wow, 25 usd for 10gb per month? That's really good!
    Sorry I'm also in EU and not in the US. maybe have a look at MVNOlist.com for some other
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I would recommend T-Mobile. From the coverage maps they look to have the Wichita Falls, TX area covered quite well. They are much cheaper than AT&T, have better customer service, and are quite flexible with plans and services.

    Unsupported Browser
     
  12. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    thanks for your response!

    will this plan be OK?

    Unsupported Browser

    As far as I understand, it provides UNLIMITED access to the WWW on any unlocked phone. Is this right?
     
  13. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Are you sure you don't want some voice minutes included? The reason I ask is cause I believe Skype is going to be dropping Windows Mobile support and regardless I wouldn't want to rely on that as my sole form of voice on a phone. Take a look at this plan, its only $20 more and gives you quite a bit more!


    Even More Plus 500 Talk + Text + Web
    This plan includes:
    • 500 Whenever Minutes®
    • Unlimited domestic messages (text, picture, video, and IM)
    • Unlimited Web access
    • No annual contract
    • Unlimited T-Mobile to T-Mobile calling
    • Unlimited Nights and Weekends
    • Free Overage Alerts
    • Free domestic long distance and no digital roaming charges across the US

    $59.99 per month

    Unsupported Browser
     
  14. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    ok, so both these plans provide unlimited full access to the Net, right?

    and does it require a contract?
     
  15. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    The "Even More Plus Plan" that I provided above does not require a contract. You can sign up for it and just tell T-Mobile that you have your own phone and that all you need is a SIM card. All the Talk + Text + Web plans on T-Mobile include Unlimited messaging and Unlimited Web whether its a regular or smart phone.
     
  16. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    I dont understand. Data plan from AT&T which includes 5GB costs 60 dollars, and T-Mobile plan which includes unlimited data costs 30 dollars. Why is that? Is T-Mobiles' net a regular 3g www internet access?
     
  17. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    AT&T's smart phone add on is only $30 extra a month. Although a voice plan is required to get that price and apparently AT&T is dropping the unlimited smart phone data plan very soon. In generel AT&T is just quite a bit more expensive than T-Mobile.
     
  18. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Let me give this a try:

    AT&T

    Just reworked their data pricing as of today. Below is from Engadget: A T & T makes sweeping changes to data plans, iPhone tethering coming at OS 4 launch -- Engadget

    AT&T does not use the same 3G frequencies as Europe, so unless the phone you purchase has the capacity for both AT&T here and carriers abroad, you're fine, otherwise you won't get 3G somewhere.

    Do you really need "unlimited" unlimited data? Is 2GB enough? If you're planning on sending massive amounts of data, you WILL run into problems with AT&T. For regular data use, one of the new data plans should suffice just fine.

    T-Mobile

    The Even More Plus Plan is perfect for non-contract use. ComicalMoodyDan explained the basic 500 anytime minute plan with unlimited Text & Web. For $79.99 you have unlimited talk, plus text and web.

    "Unlimited Web" is not as unlimited as it says. With the four big carriers here, 5GB is the cap, whether acknowledged or not. T-Mobile will not likely allow more than 5GB of data use.

    T-Mobile is 3G, BUT there are several caveats - The phone you get must have AWS Frequencies 1700/2100 on it. T-Mobile's 2100mhz is NOT the same as Europe's 2100. Keep this in mind.

    If you go the T-Mobile route, and you want their 3G, you'll likely sacrifice using the phone where you live for 3G, unless you find one with both T-Mobile's and Europe's 3G frequencies all in one. I'm sure there's a phone out there with these specs.

    American carriers don't operate the same way Euro carriers do, which is why this is so confusing. What you're wanting to do can be done. It just takes more time and diligence to get exactly what you need.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    1 person likes this.
  19. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Actually T-Mobile has no cap for smart phone data. Even on the USB Laptop cards T-Mobile only throttles back your speed after you exceed 5 GB but they will not charge you for usage over 5 GB or cancel your service. T-Mobile's 3G service as of now is a true unlimited in so far as usage goes.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    #20 Glebun, Jun 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  21. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,074
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA /LTE
    Europe uses GSM on 900 and 1800, and UMTS on 2100.
    AT&T uses GSM and UMTSon 850 and 1900.
    T-Mobile USA uses GSM on 1900 and UMTS on 1700.

    Look here for phones:
    Phone Finder - search for a phone by feature - GSMArena.com

    PS-The HTC Pro Touch 2 has 2 models, one is made for T-Mobile USA, the other for AT&T.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    1 person likes this.
  22. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    what if I dont buy it from the carriers and buy the original HTC one?
    HTC - Products - HTC Touch Pro2 - Specification
    it says
    does it mean I wont be able to use it in US?


    UPD

    I did some searching...TP2 EU doesnt seem be working in US (except EDGE), but US TP2 should work nice in EU.
    Is the Sprint HTC Touch Pro2 SIM unlocked for Europe/Asia? - Yahoo! Answers
    US Touch Pro 2 Unlocked [Archive] - xda-developers

    So, if I buy, for example Sprint TP2 unlocked on Ebay, I'll be able to use it fully in EU, right?
    Same about AT&T and T-Mobile? And will Sprint unlocked phone work with AT&T and/or T-Mobile 3G?


    Using Sprint HTC Touch Pro 2 on At&t network - HTC Touch Pro2 (Sprint) - Windows Phone Forums - HTC Community
    Read that topic but still didnt get the point..

    Phew, too hard for me...
     
    #22 Glebun, Jun 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  23. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Sprint or Verizon Touch Pro 2's are not compatible with Euro carriers. They use CDMA technology, which is completely incompatible with GSM/UMTS/HSPA/WCDMA.

    T-Mobile's Even More Plus plans are ALL non-contract.

    With AT&T, you can request a plan non-contract, you just have to make that clear to them. Since you're bringing your own unlocked phone, this makes the process easier.

    Oh and thanks Dan for the clarification of T-Mobile Data. I wasn't sure about that one, but you are correct, they'll "throttle it back" once the 5GB amount of data usage is hit.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
  25. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I forgot that both the Sprint & Verizon's TP2's have quad band GSM on them...My bad. :O

    Also, it does have Euro 3G compatible frequencies, BUT it does not have US 3G capability on the GSM side. So using this phone (once unlocked) will not get you 3G service in the North America.

    Since there are so few CDMA phones with GSM capability added on, it's easy to forget which ones have it and which ones don't.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    are you talking about sprint phone? I am.

    Will Sprint/ATT/T-Mobile phone work in EU in both GSM and 3G?
     
  27. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Yes. In my last post I was talking about the TP2 Sprint and Verizon versions specifically.

    As far as your latest question goes: The Sprint and Verizon versions do have Euro 3G frequencies.

    T-Mobile's version has ONLY US 1700/2100mhz frequencies for US 3G. Although it has 2100mhz on it. This is not compatible with the same Euro 3G frequency.

    The AT&T version (known as the Tilt 2) has BOTH North American & European 3G frequencies.

    So your best bet would be to get an unlocked AT&T Tilt 2 (their version of the Touch Pro 2).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    1 person likes this.
  28. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Phew, that's pretty much everything I wanted. Great thanks guys!
     
  29. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Glad it makes sense. It is far too confusing than it should be. North American carriers have done it their way making it a challenge to try and explain the differences.

    Since it sounds like the AT&T Tilt 2 will work out best for you, just make sure you tell AT&T you don't want to be on a contract. Double check to make sure you aren't locked in to anything.

    If you have any other questions about AT&T service/plans/etc., just let us know. Good luck! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. Glebun

    Glebun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, TX
    One more. Will I be able to use ATT Tilt 2 with T-Mobile Even More Plus 3G internet?

    If not, wich ATT plan should I choose to get 1GB or more data without contract and pay as less as possible?
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice