Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Changing a 2128i from impulse to regular ?

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by C44335, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. C44335

    C44335 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Do I have to do anything with a Nokia 2128i impulse phone
    to set it up on VZW account ?
     
    #1 C44335, Nov 2, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2005
  2. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    You should be able to just activate it with an ESN change on the website.
     
  3. MeatChicken

    MeatChicken Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NNJ Area
    My Phone:
    HTC ONE M9
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    You should be OK if it's brand new, & hasn't yet been activated as a pre-pay. Once that happens the fone may be "locked" ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Well I went to Best Buy and just bought the phone without being activated do not activate it as a pre-pay. Just buy the phone I actually called verizon up and actuvated it over the phone.
     
  5. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    This phone is a sweet backup. I looked at it today at BB and was really tempted to get one!
     
  6. C44335

    C44335 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Changed ESN on Verizonwireless.com & programmed phone *228.
    It works great. :)
    Much Much better than my LG VX-6100.:censored:
     
  7. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I am glad that this worked for you.
     
  8. Gonz

    Gonz Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    532
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    USCC Nokia 6235i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    USCC, American Roaming Network... LOL
    The nice thing about the inpulse phones (at Best Buy) is that you can actually buy a PRODUCT REPLACEMENT PLAN for them verses a SERVICE PLAN, which comes with regular pospaid phones. Product replacement is as simple as, theres a problem, and they tell you to go grab a new one off the shelf. Its an amazing deal. I just got myself a motorola v276 (was marketed as inpulse). The one drawback to the inpulse phones is that they are SPL Locked, and the only way to program the phone is with *228. I had the oppertunity to get an unlocked Nokia 6015i (I stockpiled them from BBY, since employee cost is $30) by taking it into VZW when the headset jack stopped working. They, of course, swapped it out for a refurbished under manufacturers warranty, and the refurbished one was **unlocked**. It would just be easier for all of us if they would just give us the damn lock codes for the things.
     
  9. LRando

    LRando Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    My Phone:
    Alias 2
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    That's great! I too had the lg vx6100 and I too felt it sucked! Crappy reception, dropped calls. When I took it in the 1st time they were telling me that that's not unusual with any phone, this is a great phone blah blah. I argued w/them til they finally broke down and said they'd give me a new one just to be sure. Well 2nd one was no better. I had just about arranged to sell it to someone as brand new (my belief). Well while going through the time counter was I surprised to see my brand new phone had 5300 minutes of calls on it. I called verizon. I was pissed. Told me it was refurbished and that the tech had meant a "new phone (to ME)." not neccesarily BRAND new. Because of this misunderstanding, they let let swap phone again (had already had my 1 allowed swap previous to this, plus another "gift Swap" to even GET to the 6100). I picked up a motorola v276 and have been very happy w/it!
     
  10. Gonz

    Gonz Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    532
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    USCC Nokia 6235i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    USCC, American Roaming Network... LOL
    The 276 is amazing, the wireless end call quality is truely crystal, with no echos, as I sometimes had when I was using various other phones such as my samsung a650. Great Phone. We'll have to see if the new RAZOR for VZW has as great a call quality as the 276. I plan on switching to test it, then returining it, unless of course I have to keep it.
     
  11. Sand86

    Sand86 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the 2128i from Best Buy and im having trouble activating it Verizon told me it cant be done I know I know it was a last resort i couldnt figure it out.
     
  12. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    You should have no problem activating that phone on your post pay plan, unless you first activated it on a prepay plan.
     
  13. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    Do the people at Best Buy know how to do a prepay-to-postpay conversion for Verizon service?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. bsafo132

    bsafo132 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest Missouri
    My Phone:
    LG vx4400
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON of course
    When I told the sales rep at best buy I wanted to buy and activate the 2128 on my post pay account,(knowing full well it was possible) he told me that it was not possible until I had it activated it as a pre pay phone for at least 6 months. In answer to your question, no I doubt that they can do what you asked. They don't even know, or at least they won't admit that it can even be activated as a post pay phone.
    BS
     
  15. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Sand86- I replied to you in a PM about your phone check that.

    Ok peeps here is what you need to do if you want to do this. Go to Best Buy ask where the phone is and then get it in your hand. They will most likely ask you if you would like to activate the phone say NO. Go and take the phone to the register and buy the phone. Dont even mention that you are going to activate your phone to a post-pay account because odds are they have no idea that this can be done and 9/10 of them will tell you it cant be done.

    Then when you have the phone you can do one of two things call Verizon and activate it that way or do it online. If you call into Verizon NEVER mention that you have a pre-pay phone always make them think you have a post-pay phone. This is what I did and it worked just fine. If you dont like to call in then do it online very easy to do and there is instructions.

    But the things you cant do is have it activated as a pre-pay or you will be in trouble and dont mention it being a pre-pay phone at any time hope this helps. Other things could happen but I bet this will help.
     
  16. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Sounds very secret agent-ish.
     
  17. yes, very. Sounds like something I would do. But when they put in the ESN can't they see/tell that it's a pre pay?
     
  18. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    They should be able to tell if it was pre or post by the ESN. Not sure if CS would actually check if you called in to make the change.
     
  19. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Well I know that when I called in and they did it nothing was said either way.
     
  20. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    The VZW number on prepay right now, has been active since August 2004. My goal was to purchase a 2128i and then change the existing plan from prepay to postpay and activate the 2128i with the same phone number, on postpay.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    Does anyone know why the 2128i was removed from Verizon's web site? I also checked it for other cities, no Nokias. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    This happened to me here in Utah about 2 weeks ago but now I can see it.
     
  23. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    I stopped in the local Best Buy this morning, they said a prepay-to-postpay conversion could be done, but they could not do it there, I would have to go to a Verizon store. (They did have the 2128i on INpulse though.)

    So, I then went to TWO Verizon stores locally. Neither had the phone.

    The 2128i is not yet available, put in a call to VZW Telesales, was told the phone would be in "shortly", when pressed further, it was then said "3 weeks".
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    If you want go to Verizons site and then put in my zip code 84604 and it will bring it up for you.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice