Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Change Home SID to allow me to connect to Verizons network?

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by Sardowned, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. Sardowned

    Sardowned New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So here's the deal:

    I am a student attending West Virginia University in Morgantown, WV. Verizon does not have native coverage so I am roaming on US Cellular's network. However, about 25 miles north (Jefferson, PA) is a Verizon tower. It's coverage stops as soon as I leave Pennsylvania and drive into West Virginia. If I change the SID on my Samsung I760 to the Jefferson, PA tower and select "Home Only" mode, will that connect me to that tower?

    Thanks
     
  2. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Nope, sorry :( you are just too far away from the tower.
    Setting it to home only would just give you no signal.
    You should be ok with roaming on US Cellular for as long as you need to.
    US Cellular SIDs in your immediate area (364, 1794) are free roam for Verizon customers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sardowned

    Sardowned New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Darn, what's the maximum range of a Verizon tower? 6 or 7 miles north of me is the PA border and I get Verizon coverage there fine.

    My service is fine and I can still data roam on US Cell's network, I just would prefer to be on Verizon's network.
     
  4. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    The range of Verizon's cell towers vary depending on how urban / rural the area is,
    and of course the power from the antenna and their height above ground.
    On average in suburban areas, you should be able to go 1-2 miles with no problem,
    but in rural areas, 10+ miles is not too uncommon.
    Very urban areas only go about 1/2 mile on average.
    It will also vary depending on how many cell sites cover the area, and their capacity.

    In most areas, the towers are setup to give a full signal right up to the border area,
    and then die out within a few hundred feet of crossing the border area.
    You'll find this alot on most interstates.

    Headed into Western NC, Alltel is like this on I-26 at the SC-NC state line.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Sardowned

    Sardowned New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I had no clue that cell towers had that short of a range. No wonder we pay so much for service lol...

    Well I guess I'll just have to wait until Verizon expands into Morgantown. They have a small area of coverage about 40 miles south of here in Clarksburg but that's about it. How fast does Verizon normally expand their service area once they establish it? The Clarksburg service area is fairly new (just a few months ago it popped up.)
     
  6. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    I don't know that much about how long it takes to put up service, fill coverage holes, etc.
    But for the most part, Verizon is an above-average carrier when it comes to expanding service.

    We had Verizon antennas added to a tower here in Gaffney about 2 years ago,
    and I didn't even notice the technicians working, until they were almost done.
    Within 3 days, the antenna setup was complete, and the signal was up and running.

    So my guess is that it could take up to a week to install new panels on an existing tower,
    Not sure about building a new tower though.

    Now if only Sprint can get over here and install some panels on a tall cell tower thats next to my backyard. :)
    I'm only 3 miles from Interstate 85 and coverage from Sprint here is a disgrace.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Signal can go alot further than that. In fact here in the rural parts it is not uncommon at all for towers to cover 25-30 miles gaps. This also depends if verizon has 850 if it is 1900 this is not possible period.
     
  8. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Another added factor in this situation is the OP has a Samsung...

    That alone does not help his situation. Samsungs are not known to be great signal hogs, like say Nokia and Motorola. This won't help his cause either.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    That's being way too optimistic in most cases. I've seen 2-3 months to complete a co-lo on an exisiting tower. Usually putting up the panels themselves is the easy part. Then there are a lot of things that can delay the actual RF turn up.
     
  10. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Does Verizon or US Cellular still use the home SID system when programming phones? With Sprint the home SID is no longer necessary and is not even set during activation. I could program 1234 or 9999 instead of 4145 and it wouldn't make any difference.
     
  11. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    I don't think Verizon Does, I don't really know about USCC though, but I don't think they do.

    I know Alltel does though,
    I get blinking R If I'm outside SID 114 (for Charlotte),
    and I only live 5 miles from SID 116 (for Greenville/Spartanburg)

    However, I did program my LG AX4270 to not blink for some SIDs if I program them into my phone.
    My phone will not blink R (even if roaming on VZW/Sprint) if I program their SID into my phone, which I've already done.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Here are the SIDs I programmed into my phone, so it won't blink at all:

    NAM1 Home SIDs:

    114 (Alltel - Charlotte, NC)
    116 (Alltel - Greenville/Spartanburg, SC)
    1640 (Alltel - Laurens/Newberry/Greenwood, SC)
    156 (Alltel - Charleston, SC)
    182 (Alltel - Columbia, SC)
    368 (Alltel - Hickory, NC)
    1546 (Alltel - Statesville, NC)
    142 (Alltel - Triad, NC)
    144 (Alltel - Raleigh/Durham, NC)
    350 (Alltel - Florence, SC)
    3226 (Alltel - Myrtle Beach, SC)
    74 (Alltel - Tri Cities, TN-VA)
    84 (Alltel - Augusta, GA)
    83 (Alltel - Richmond, VA)
    520 (Alltel - Savannah/Brunswick, GA)
    1650 (Alltel - Orangeburg, SC)
    1652 (Alltel - Hilton Head Island, SC)
    1522 (Carolina West Wireless - North Wilkesboro, NC)
    246 (U.S. Cellular - Asheville, NC)
    5667 (Alltel PCS - Jacksonville, FL)

    NAM2 Home SIDs:

    139 (Verizon - Charlotte, NC)
    8 (Verizon - Philadelphia, PA)
    22 (Verizon - New York, NY)
    250 (Verizon - Atlantic City/South Jersey, NJ)
    64 (Verizon - Las Vegas, NV)
    41 (Verizon - Atlanta, GA)
    93 (Verizon - Tri Cities, TN-VA)
    18 (Verizon - Washington, DC/Baltimore, MD)
    502 (Verizon - Roanoke, VA)
    1015 (Verizon - Augusta/Savannah/Brunswick, GA)
    1912 (Verizon - Frederick County, VA)
    4138 (Verizon - Jacksonville, FL)
    4376 (Sprint - Charlotte, NC)
    4162 (Sprint - New York, NY)
    4168 (Sprint - Philadelphia, PA)
    4145 (Sprint - Las Vegas, NV/Los Angeles, CA)
    4195 (Sprint - Washington, DC)
    4274 (Sprint - Atlanta, GA/Albuquerque, NM)
    4694 (Sprint - Knoxville, TN)
    4654 (Sprint - Jacksonville, FL)


    I lockout Verizon/Sprint SIDs on NAM1,
    and I lockout Alltel SIDs on NAM2
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. dd4444

    dd4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey kyle how did u get those sid's? and how did u edit them? thanks
     
  14. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Is your phone an LG? if so there are 2 ways to get into the NAM.
    One of them should work if the other one doesn't.

    Hit Menu, press 0, then service code is 000000, go into service programming mode.

    Or

    Hit ##program + model number of your phone.

    (so if it's an LG Banter, thats an LG AX265 - so hit ##program265 [##7764726265])
    then service code 000000, then go into service programming mode.

    See this post for how to program the NAM after getting into the service programming mode:
    http://forums.wirelessadvisor.com/alltel-users/62508-sids-and-nam1.html#post446630

    If your phone isn't an LG, then I have no clue how to program that phone's NAM settings,
    as my experience is only with LG phones (I've had mine 3 years), and LGs are some of the easiest phones to program.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Look on The Roaming Zone for the list of SIDs around the country.
    Or check out PRL Interpretations to see which SIDs are free or pay roam, or ones that you cannot use (Neg'd SIDs).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice