Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

CellTracker Alternative

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows Mobile Phones' started by ShoresGuy, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    I found this while looking for an alternative to the SPV Developers CellTracker app. It's an app called NiceTrack...the screenshots tell the rest of the story:

    http://www.nicecuppa.com/nicetrack.asp
    Background info:http://www.ascendingangels.com/nicecuppa.com/nicetrack.asp?story=1
    Screenshots: http://www.ascendingangels.com/nicecuppa.com/nicetrack.asp?story=2
    Download: http://www.ascendingangels.com/nicecuppa.com/nicetrack.asp?story=3 (Version 1.2)

    The source code for that app can also be downloaded from the Background Info link.

    The SPV Developers CellTracker app (Beta version only, hasn't been updated since December) for PocketPCs is located at the way bottom of the page:

    http://www.thelogster.34sp.com/celltracker/

    NiceTrack updates the tower changes in real-time whereas CellTracker does not. NiceTrack also shows the dbm signal strength on a cool chart and it also includes a logging function that allows you to rename the cells your phone has connected to while the app is active.

    Signal strength chart: http://www.ascendingangels.com/nicecuppa.com/images/nicetrack/main-page.gif

    Here are a couple hints based on my experience so far:

    1) In order to fully save the renamed/logged cell sites, you must first tap Save next to where you renamed the cell site. Then you must also tap Options/Menu --> Save (extreme lower left) to save all changes since the app was launched.

    2) Use Menu --> Exit to completely close the app.

    I have tested this for use on my MDA II w/Windows Mobile 2003. I don't know if the app is compatible with WM5 PPCs or regular Windows Mobile smartphones.

    Enjoy :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. walkguru

    walkguru Wireless Guru
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,084
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    My Phone:
    iphone 3gs 32black
    Wireless Provider(s):
    cingular,family plan w/4 lines
    Wirelessly posted (Walkguru's: Nokia6682/2.0 (3.01.1) SymbianOS/8.0 Series60/2.6 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 UP.Link/6.3.0.0.0)

    Ill have to check that out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Sure, but it only works for PocketPCs or Windows Mobile smartphones.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Shores,

    Thanks for the link, unfortunately there are still some bugs that James needs to iron out for the WM5 devices. It sure looks promising though.:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Hi Shores, 1.3 is what I downloaded this afternoon. It does fix the Com 9 bug, but still doesn't gather the
    cell data. James is real nice, we emailed quite a few times, he said he was temporarily stumped but will have a fix soon.

    Now, he called me a "Dude", but I won't hold that against him. :lmao:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    LOL, 1.3 works fine on my MDA II so it automatically detects COM9 when you tap "Detect"? When I tap "Detect", it selects COM2.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Actually, when I tap "Detect", it says "Modem not found", so I have to manually select it. I am going to try again tomorrow I will have more time to play with it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Well here in Germany, each provider uses a different numbering/ID setup for identifying each sector of their individual tower setup.

    Cingular lists their fully-owned sites here:

    http://www.cingularsites.com

    Maybe that will help you a bit. Other than that, I don't know of an option to have the MNC show up in NiceTrack while it is running.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Thanks Shores, I tried the website, there is only one Cingular Tower listed and the nos. do not relate to the LAC or CI nos.

    I E-Mailed James and he told me that a "Network ID" is in the works for future.

    PS: Version 1.5 works great on my QTEK.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Cool, yes he told me the same thing over on XDA-Developers.com. I also asked him if he could add an option of displaying the Cell ID in either dec or Hex mode.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice