Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Cell Tower Industry in NH/VT

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Feroze, Mar 1, 2005.

1. Feroze

Feroze New Member

I'm a Masters student at Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH. I'm trying to study the challenges faced by the tower industry in New England, mainly NH and VT. I have a few questions regarding the cell tower industry .

1) How does the industry work? i.e.What is the process for providing coverage to an area?
    2)Do cell companies decide where they neeed coverage (What is this decision based on?traffic?)
    3)Who do they go to once they figure out where they need coverage - Real Estate companies? Tower Companies?
    4)Who is responsible for negotiating for the land and lease etc?
    5)Who is responsible to see that the chosen site has access to power and telco - Cellular companies or Tower companies?
    6)What is the role of the tower company?
    7)Who finances what i.e What does the cell company pay for and What does the tower company pay for?
    8)How does the revenue model look?
    9)Rumors are that millions are tied up in NH/VT in unsuccesful attempts to put up cell towers - Are these just rumors?
    10)Whose money is this and Why is it tied up? Preparing for Zoning board hearings?
    11)Who is the end recipient of this money? Consultants?
    12)What is the average cost for putting up a cell tower and how is the cost divided?
    13)What are the major reasons why people do not want cell towers? Aesthetics?

These are some questions to which I'd like answers.

Sincerely,

Feroze

2. waywith

waywith Junior Member

You are asking for a LOT of information that is not something most of the posters on this board will care about or be interested in, in my opinion.