Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Cell-phone users need a Bill of Rights

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by amphibian, Mar 3, 2003.

1. amphibian

amphibian Senior Member

http://www.topnic.com/cgi/read.cgi/t62731859

Posted on Mon, Mar. 03, 2003

Cell-phone users need a Bill of Rights
    By Mike Langberg
    Mercury News

Cell-phone users of the nation unite! You have nothing to lose but your lack of rights!

Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., this week introduced legislation he grandly calls The Cell Phone Users Bill of Rights, and I find myself agreeing with just about every aspect of his proposal.

I've been attempting for several years to offer advice on how to pick the best wireless phone carrier and the best service plan. In all that time, I've been frustrated at how difficult it is for consumers to make informed choices.

Schumer seems to fully grasp the problem and is advocating common-sense solutions. Sadly, there's little chance his bill will become law -- at least not without major watering down, given the wireless industry's heavy spending on campaign contributions and lobbying.

There are similar efforts under way in California, both at the Public Utilities Commission and in the state Legislature, with similarly dim prospects.

In a speech Tuesday to the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, Schumer explained his bill's three key points:

â?¢ Number portability. The wireless industry has stalled for seven years in the face of federal mandates that would allow customers to keep their phone numbers when they switch from one carrier to another. The technology to make this happen is already in place, but the companies are fighting on every front because they don't want to make it easier for subscribers to defect.