Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Can you still make local calls on your mobile phone dialing just 7 digits?

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Telekom, Sep 16, 2007.

?

How do you have to make local calls?

Poll closed Sep 26, 2007.
  1. Input 7 digits

    14 vote(s)
    43.8%
  2. Input 10 digits (area code plus 7 digits)

    7 vote(s)
    21.9%
  3. Input 11 digits (1 plus area code plus 7 digits)

    1 vote(s)
    3.1%
  4. Input 7 digits, input 10 digits or input 11 digits

    10 vote(s)
    31.3%
  1. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    There are 4 different area codes within 20 minutes of where I live (each in a county border).
    864 is my area code. 803 is just east of me. 704 & 980 are for Charlotte, NC and 828 is for Western NC (Asheville area).

    I believe i'm in the only SC county to be bordered by 4 different area codes.

    about 15 years ago, all of SC was 803,
    and all of Piedmont NC & Western NC was 704.

    Here's the SC & NC area code maps:
    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I noticed that 919 and 910 are right next to each other and 828 in North Carolina continues the string of "8" area codes from South Carolina.

    By the way, where did you get the NC area code map from? It looks really cool. Is it from a local source or is there a map of area codes in the US available with the style of the NC map you posted?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    i got the NC map here: http://statelibrary.dcr.state.nc.us/ld/youth/areacodes.gif
    And I Got the SC map here: http://www.pen-net.com/images/areamap.gif

    I used Irfanview to edit the pix and merge them into one :)

    I did searches on google images. "area code 864" and "area code 704" and found those maps.
    You can do that for any area code, and should be able to find a map of the area code area ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,003
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Oh yeah, Metro Atlanta is another one with an odd set of codes chosen. There's been little logic in deciding who's going to get what number sequence. It's just plain silly. There are many more cases of this around the country. :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. COtech

    COtech Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    My Phone:
    Sam. Galaxy SII Skyrocket
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility
    NPAs (area codes) can be reserved, in advance of need. Have a look at 865, servicing Knoxville and the University of Tennessee. It can be dialed as VOL(unteers)..

    COtech
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    That's true, I forgot about this. Another prime example of this is 321 in Central Florida. Even though it is an overlay code for the Orlando area, it is the primary and single code in Brevard County, which is where Cape Canaveral and the Kennedy Space Center are located, hence 3-2-1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I can dial either 7 or 10. Though I have to have 10 for sms, so I typically use 10.
     
  10. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    So if I go out of Cherokee County, SC (into Spartanburg/Greenville) I'll get the following Alltel system error:
    "When dialing this number, please include the area code. Alltel 116)
    (for SID 116)

    Or If I go to Charlotte, and try to dial 7 digits on Alltel's system, it'll be similar from above, same words, but with a deeper voice
    (different recording). And it'll say: Alltel 114-C.
    I wonder what the "C" means. It used to say just 114

    If I choose to roam on Verizon at my home, and try to make a call using 7 digits, it'll say this:
    "Welcome to Verizon Wireless; while roaming, please include the area code of the number you are calling.
    Please hang up any try your call again. Announcement 9, Switch 139-103"
    (for SID 139, NID 103)

    If I choose to roam on Sprint at my home, and try to make a call using 7 digits, it'll say this:
    "to place this call, you will first need to dial an area code. Please try your call again. Message 264-8"
    Each number in these Sprint messages is different for each SID/NID. I wonder how these are assigned.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    This is right on spec with me to.
     
  12. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Lucky Utahn's...:(

    I miss 7 digit dialing...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,003
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
    i
    ahhhhhh.... When I initially left Atlanta, I missed 10 digit dialing and the huge local calling area. I had to learn to dial with 7 digits; I had to realize that just because a number is in your area code does not make it local from the landline although I can call all 850 numbers with 7 digits from my mobiles. I always save my contacts with ten digits so I ensure proper call completion in the places I visit the most.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I could get away w/ 7-digit dialing, but I'm so used to handling each call as 10-digit dialing. Bring on the Carpal Tunnel Syndrome!!!:wink:
     
  15. chuikov

    chuikov Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    304 and 301 are right next to each other, and I call them all the time. To make matters worse, some of my friends are in 303.

    But it's not a big deal. I dial 10 digits and it works even though I have a 724 in a 717.
     
  16. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    A side note on 301, until 410 was added to eastern Maryland, 301 was right next to 302 in Delaware. This had been in effect since 1948 until 410's implementation.

    I always wondered why 410 was implemented where it was because usually a major city will keep the main code and the rest of the area will change. Not in this case. Baltimore did not keep 301. I didn't realize they added 410 where they did BECAUSE of it's neighboring proximity to 302.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    True, and in your case, unless you know somebody within the city limits of Phoenix (which remained 602), you don't really need to call out of the 480 area you live in. Since you're fairly deep in the 480 area, you can still get away with 7 digit dialing, but I agree, it's easier just to add them as 10 digits. When you're out of the area, you'd have to use 10 digits anyway.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Ellen

    Ellen Guest

    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8320/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

    Here in PA. I have had to dial 10 digits since I have owned a cell phone.
     
  19. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    yep... I rarely have to leave my compound. I gotta rep the 480!!!:biggrin:
     
  20. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Lucky you...I rep the 213, 310, and the 818. Only in L.A. :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I tell you, your everywhere, Mr Popularity!!!:browani:
     
  22. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Why thank you! :D It's actually because there are so many darn area codes in La La Land...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice