Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Can you hear me now? BARELY

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Verizonfone, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. Verizonfone

    Verizonfone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NH
    I just recently moved to Rochester, NH from Boston and am under contract with Verizon for another year or so. I understand that Strafford County's Verizon network was only recently turned on a few months ago. However, I'm curious if they have any plans to fine tune the network up here? As of right now it's horrible. My calls get dropped and no matter where I go, with the exception of the tower in Dover after the toll plaza heading north on the Spaulding Turnpike, my signal is generally one bar with maybe a quick occasional spike to two or three. Even in downtown Dover signal is an issue. When I used to visit here, I remember that I used to roam on Unicel and never had a problem. But now I'm a slave to Verizon's lousy coverage unless the Verizon reception is completely non-existant. Oddly enough I found this out when in a supermarket recently. While in the store Verizon's poor signal was unable to penetrate the building at all. Low and behold my phone switched to Unicel (extended network) automatically and my signal was great. Walk outside however, and instantly the strong Unicel signal was quickly replaced by the weak Verizon signal. It's aggrivating to say the least and I'm rather surprised that Verizon has done nothing to improve the coverage here. Strafford County is home to at least two of New Hampshire's larger cities and also the University of New Hampshire. You would think that they would be more actively trying to address this problem.

    Has anyone heard anything regarding coverage improvements here?
     
  2. waywith

    waywith Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    They just recently (few months ago) turned on their towers there, and are not yet "officially" selling service in Strafford County, as I understand it. They are probably fine tuning their towers now, so you may have to endure less than adequate service for a while yet.

    I have US Cellular, which, in the Northeast generally, roams off Verizon's towers most places where USC does not have its own towers. In Strafford they still roam off Unicel, so I get a pretty good signal up there -- or did the last time I was in Dover.

    You might want to take a look at www.cellguru.net, which has a lot of info about cell service in New England. He mentions the Verizon towers being turned on in Strafford. One reason reception isn't as great there as it is elsewhere is that it's 1900 Mhz (PCS) service, rather than the usual Verizon 800 Mhz service (elsewhere in NH). In my experience, 1900 Mhz service never seems to be quite as good as 800 Mhz.

    The way cell carriers work, they program your phone so that if there is ANY signal from their own towers, you phone will lock onto that signal, even if there is a much stronger (and more usable) signal available from a roaming partner. You will be able to use the roaming partner (in your case, Unicel) ONLY when there is NO USABLE VERIZON SIGNAL AT ALL.

    They all do it that way, cheap SOB's don't want to pay roaming fees unless it is absolutely necessary. ("Can you hear me now? No?? Oh, well....")

    -way (in Manchester NH)
     
  3. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cingular shows coverage in Rochester, NH

    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile


    That's nice, but he was asking about Verizon improvements. :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. royc

    royc Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio Valley
    My Phone:
    Motorola V262
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Alltel)

    Can you reprogram your phone to make Unicels's SID the home SID in your phone? Then could you lock on to Unicel by using the "home only" setting? This works with Alltel phones. I've never tried it on a Verizon handset, but I think it would work. This might improve things for you until Verizon gets their act together or your contract is up.

    royc
     
  6. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    tHERE WILL BE no iMPROVEMENTS
    vzw dOES'NT hAVE A LICENSE hERE.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    That's a much better answer than posting a Cingular map. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Buickman

    Buickman Gearhead/Gadget freak
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Bye Bye MN, Hello Cali
    My Phone:
    BB 9550, Moto Droid
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon on both phones


    That was my thought to. Hey Verizonfone, what kind of handset do you have? We can tell you how to do this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I have no local experiences there, BuT, iF VERIZoN just turned on a new system there and has turned on towers, they must have a license to operate there, or am I mistaken?
    Thanks for posting the Cingular map. :rolleyes:
     
  10. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean 1900 MHZ License?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    aNY license...
     
  12. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely not 850 MHZ
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    SO...they still have a license there...doesn't matter whether it's Cellular or PCS...
     
  14. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right Now VZW does Not Sell Service Here
    in this Area.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    ...as was explained by another poster: They turned on their network in the area a while ago and are fine tuning it now. You should know, Jones, that carriers often don't start selling service in areas immediately when they first turn on their service.
     
  16. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    T-Mobile has a 1900 MHz License in this Area,
    it could be T-Mobile.
    Unicel and ATTWS(now part of Cingular)
    has the 850 MHz.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. waywith

    waywith Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Hey, Jones,

    According to Dave Markson's www.cellguru.net web site, which is devoted to Wireless Service in New England, Verizon DOES own spectrum in Strafford County NH -- PCS Band F. That is, of course, at 1900 Mhz. So, THAT is what has been turned on.

    I am sure they will not begin local marketing of the service until they get the bugs worked out. Maybe the original poster needs to pick up a prepaid Unicel phone for use until Verizon gets their act together.

    Cingular and T-Mobile are NOT good bets for service in New Hampshire, at least not yet. Both of their networks do not have very complete coverage of the more rural areas of the state.

    -way
     
  18. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    If VZW new Tower is Turned On,
    Should'nt He be Receiving a Signal?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. agentHibby

    agentHibby Iowa Cellular Guru
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SID 150 or 1214
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6256i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    VZW has PCS 1900 or Cellular 850 or all of the Northeast except in the part the where US Cellular has the Cellular B network in Pennsylvania and also in Northern Maine.
    What I understand Verizon is going to have a network in nearly every city in the Northeast. It will take a few years to build a network where they got a PCS 1900 license from the Northcoast PCS deal. So Verizon does have a Cellular or PCS license for all or Vermont and New Hampshire.
     
  20. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Few Years, say 2 years.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    WTF? No clue what you're talking about, Sorry! :rolleyes:
     
  22. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I might be wrong with this but it is my understanding that a cellsite, especially within city limits reaches less than 2 miles, usually. I might be wrong with this as well, but I think that every carrier has their dead spots and I think that especially carriers that are new to an area have more of those, as I said, though, I might be totally wrong.
     
  23. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Let's not speculate since we have no idea. :rolleyes:
     
  24. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering Why the other Northcoast License
    is Built and Running.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Which other northcoast license? :confused:
     
  26. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    like Ohio
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. agentHibby

    agentHibby Iowa Cellular Guru
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SID 150 or 1214
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6256i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Are you refering to Cleveland Jones??

    Northcoast still operates there I think that was the only license that Verizon did not get.
     
  28. royc

    royc Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio Valley
    My Phone:
    Motorola V262
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Alltel)
    Verizon used their Northcoast license to add native coverage in Muskingum County, Ohio last year. This filled a gap on Interstate 70 between thier system in Central Ohio and Alltel's in eastern Ohio. The only CDMA carrier in that county prior to last year was Sprint. Dobson and Cingular have the A and B bands there, respectively.

    royc
     
  29. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Northcoast is out of Business.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. Fathead

    Fathead In the Industry
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    http://www.northcoastpcs.com/



    their coverage map was updated within the last 3 weeks and the customer service number on the front page works.


    I don't think they are out of business.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice