Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Blinking Yellow triangle ...

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by foufymaus, Apr 18, 2006.

  1. foufymaus

    foufymaus Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UT
    My Phone:
    LG Glimmer
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Hello,
    Im not sure if this goes in the Motorola forum or the Alltel forum. seeing how it is primarily about a roaming indicator on my phone and im not roaming im thinking its network.

    I have a Motorola razr v3c, Normally on my screen i do not have a blinking yellow triangle on my phone unless im at work. Sometimes when im at work It will blink but then it usually goes away when i leave the building.Today I did notice that it is blinking and is not going away. I should not be roaming seeing how the Alltel store is less than a half mile away.

    The only other time i see it roaming is when i travel outside of the area about 100 miles north or 200 miles south. I haven't done any traveling outside our small town for the past week.

    So my question is, should i work about the blinking triangle?

    thanks
    melissa
     
  2. royc

    royc Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio Valley
    My Phone:
    Motorola V262
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Alltel)
    The blinking triangle means that you are not on your home system. Since your in Utah(?), that means you are using Verizon's network (free roam). Your phone should normally prefer Alltel over Verizon if both signals are available. If the local Alltel tower is off-line that could explain it. If you drive 10 miles away from work, does it still stay on blinking triangle? How about if you power the phone off and then turn it back on? If it stays on blinking triangle after trying my suggestions, I'd take it in to the Alltel store and have it checked out.

    royc
     
  3. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Where in Utah are you?
     
  4. foufymaus

    foufymaus Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UT
    My Phone:
    LG Glimmer
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    alrighty makes sense

    Yup im in Utah, Eastern Utah actually.

    how can i tell?

    work is only 2 miles from home, its a five minute drive. I'll try this tomorrow.

    powered off, turned it back on made a call from the phone and also made a call to the phone the triangle still blinks :(

    I'll try the ten miles thing tomorrow, and if it doesn't work then i'll take it in Thanks a whole bunch. im not really worried about roaming charges seeing how im on the national network plan, its just annoying when things blink at me ;)


    melissa
     
  5. foufymaus

    foufymaus Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UT
    My Phone:
    LG Glimmer
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    eastern utah price area

    :D
     
  6. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    If you are on a Alltel plan, I would not worry about the blinking triangle. Either way you look at it, you are still being charged as "home". Think of it as getting the best of both worlds or having your cake and eating it too.
     
  7. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Alltel is in the process of changing the broadcast SIDs in Utah from two to one, your triangle will blink for a few days. Alltel has pushed an update to your phone over the air, which should fix the roaming indicator, when the combination of the two SIDs is complete. Until then your phone will think that it is roaming because the home SID programmed into your phone does not match the old broadcast SID.

    You will not be charged roaming for this, by the way.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. foufymaus

    foufymaus Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UT
    My Phone:
    LG Glimmer
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Thanks for the quick response. I'll wait a few days. See what goes.
    melissa
     
  9. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
     
  10. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Nope, everyone's going to 1741. Check it out...

    On Monday, April 24, 2006, Carbon, Emery and Grand counties located in Utah RSA 5, will change from using broadcast SID 1739 to using SID 1741.

    An OTA (Over-The-Air) push to update these counties with the 1741 SID will begin on Monday, April 17, 2006.

    Customers who reprogram their handset prior to Monday, April 24, 2006, will see a flashing roam indicator until the broadcast SID changes on 4/24/06. This does not mean that they will incur roaming charges.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel

    Where did you get that? I'm in Beaver County on SID 1739. Recieving SID 1739 as I type this. Am I changing to 1741 also?
     
  12. foufymaus

    foufymaus Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UT
    My Phone:
    LG Glimmer
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel

    ahh... see ya got me, my nam is 1741 but the other number is current is 1739, and im in carbon.

    thanks again for the quick answers :D

    melissa
     
  13. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Sleep well tonight Melissa. Your Alltel is working hard for you tonight.:cool:
     
  14. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    No, you're not changing...
    I meant everyone in Utah RSA 5, which doesn't include Beaver County, sorry, I should have been more clear.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Thank you for clearing up the RSA's and 1739 and 1741 questions.

    Since we are talking about roaming and "blinking yellow triangles", I recently went across country recently. My Alltel phone worked well. All the time I was gone, I had the "blinking triangle". I understand that as long I'm blinking, I'm OK.

    My friends that were with me have Verizon. Their phone never had a roam indicator. Their phones displayed "Verizon Wireless" the entire trip. No triangles, squares or any other shapes or phrases indicating roaming.

    Why does Alltel have the "blinking triangle" while on friendly roam and Verizon has nothing telling you about roam?
     
  16. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Good question... and one to which I have no answer.

    I think that it has something to do with the differences between the Greater Freedom and National Freedom coverage areas. Alltel probably doesn't want people on Greater Freedom plans thinking they are on their 'extended network' when, in fact, they are out of their coverage area and roaming. That's just a guess, however.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I should also mention that we were on Alltel in NE Louisiana
     
  18. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    As long as you were on a National Freedom plan, you're kosher.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. alltelwirelesstech

    alltelwirelesstech Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Alltel places the triangle when you leave your home network since we are one of the few carriers that allows local coverage as well as national. most only have only one footprint, where alltel offers less expensive local plans as well as national. and yes utah is changing broadcast sids, i do not know why but we are. RSA 5 will for to 1741 from 1739. If the phones still blink after 04/24/2006 they will just need to be re-programmed. an OTA push is supposed to change the home sid automatically but i know some old cell one phones may not work correctly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    The roaming group requested the change to consolidate the entire RSA under one SID for CDMA (AMPS still has two broadcast SIDs, I think.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice