Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

AT&T's online coverage map is terrible!

Discussion in 'Western US Wireless Forum' started by AnthroMatt, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    I have a GoPhone and I brought it to work with me for the first time yesterday. Reception in my office (ground floor, near a window) fluctuates between 0-1 bars to no service.

    Sprint is perfect in my office (second image).

    Now compare their coverage maps:

    My office is blanketed in the "best coverage" AT&T has to offer (first image). Yet my phone (thankfully prepaid) is practically unusable.

    At least at home (the second green image), where Sprint is bad and AT&T is good, Sprint's coverage map has me indicated as being in a marginal coverage area.

    And no, that pushpin isn't exactly my home...I am semi-concealing the location. But it is in the light green area. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I think Sprint and T-Mobile provide the most accurate maps.
     
  3. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Hasn't AT&T/Cingular's network in the Phoenix area always been a little spotty? Also, aren't they PCS (1900mhz) only in the PHX area?

    If they are only PCS, then that might explain the poor coverage you get at work. Just a guess, though. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    You are correct that they are1900MHz only here. I have no real problem with the coverage, but rather the depiction of it. In an area labeled as "best" I think you should get usable indoor coverage.

    Sprint is 1900 only (of course) and their maps just seem much more truthful. My house is in a Sprint area that says outdoor coverage is "good" (not best) and I have spotty indoor coverage. This seems like a fair and reasonable depiction.

    IMO the ATT map should depict an area with unusable (2 for 2 in calls attempted and calls dropped) indoor coverage as "good" not "best" I don't work in conrete bunker or anything. :)
     
  5. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    AT&T coverage maps have always been horrible. My previous job has been at the location that is in the "good" area right at the border with "best" area, and we do have 850MHz signal. The moment T-Mobile roaming became history, so did the ability of AT&T subscribers to use their phones.

    It's almost anecdotal — AT&T has a billboard nearby (had for a number of years) with their ad. My success rate at driving past the billboard without dropping a conversation has been around 50%. It was especially funny while billboard was saying "the least dropped calls", but even now it's not much better — do I really care that AT&T has service in "CHILONDOSCOW" if I can't get a signal right here in Milpitas?
     
  6. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Fortunately, in the L.A. area, they're pretty strong. When I've checked the coverage maps for my area, they've been pretty accurate. I have to admit, their coverage map does leave something to be desired.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    yeppers... sounds like nothings changed w/ CingulATT since we did our own quasi-scientific Field testing!!!:cool:
     
  8. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Apparently so, though I haven't really visited PHX since 2005, so maybe there's been some improvement?

    Been through Sky Harbor several times, but that's not enough for me to give an accurate detail of my experience with AT&T's coverage in the PHX area.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    i havent had problems with it. but its likely all coverage viewers are junk. Alltels you cant select locations and verizons just shows if theres coverage or not. so they all suck LoL
     
  10. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Yeah, the ATT was is really giving towards ATT service. It was a lot worse a couple of months ago, but they made it a bit more accurate. It is still way off though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. jmac32here

    jmac32here New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Another thing is its prepaid. Sadly, at&t and Verizon do not give their full network coverage to their prepaid customers, same applies to MVNO's (take a peek and Sprints MVNO Virgin Mobile)
     
  12. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    The image I posted is the coverage map for postpaid accounts.

    And prepaid ATT phones can use all of ATT's network, but just none of their roaming partners.

    My phone won't work when I am up in Page, AZ for work next week, but a regular postpaid ATT user would get service from their roaming partner there.
     
  13. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    When I was in Page last year, my phone showed 310-410, so your prepaid should work. I think Page, Moab & Kayenata (maybe) were the only 3 places where I had 410 west of Lincoln, NE.

    PS: Yes, at&'s online coverage map is trerrible.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    Interesting. I was going to leave it at home, because the map showed it as partner coverage, but maybe I will take it along just in case. It will be an experiment! ;)
     
  15. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Just out of curiosity, will your Sprint and Alltel phones work up there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    Yeah. Sprint will roam on Alltel, so obviously Alltel will work. Alas, my Alltel phone is still being shipped to me, so I won't get it until I come back though.
     
  17. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    to the OP, what kind of phone do you have? it may be your device
     
  18. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    You think AT&T is selling duds as GoPhones?
     
  19. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    Nokia 6085. Never had a problem with any Nokia in my life when it comes to reception.
     
  20. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    yea that should be fine, the only problem i could see is if its suppose to be a 3G area also and maybe they are having an EDGE problem on that tower. If the coverage map says its suppose to be full signal and you cant call that is a clear "somethings wrong here". if i was you i would call customer service and let them know, it may be that they need to file a trouble ticket to go check the near by tower.
     
  21. RadioFoneGuy

    RadioFoneGuy Powered by HTC FUZE
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Everywhere.
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6103, 6010, 2260
    Wireless Provider(s):
    The death star formally known as Cell One.
    Could of been a tower outage as well when you were at work. Should try it again just for grins.

    Nokia 6085 is a good phone.
     
  22. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    yea, thats what i was thinking. also even though it is a good phone, it still could be possible that it was a problem or needs to be turned off for a few minutes. you never know, phones are finicky. lately im getting 1 bar in a place i usually have 3, but then again they are working on 3G here so i figure thats the reason since im randomly roaming sometimes too.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice