Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

AT&T/Sprint nationwide network

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Guest, Jun 19, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

AT&T/Sprint nationwide network

Hi!

I am a recent college grad. I currently live in Cleveland, and I have service through AT&T. I've never really had a problem with it, and I'm for the most part very happy with the service (I switched from Verizon because of the awful coverage I got at school).

Anyway - here's my predicament. I'm not sure how much longer I'll be living in Cleveland, but as my graduation gift, my grandpa wants to buy me another year's worth of cell coverage. Since I will probably be travelling a lot in the coming months to visit friends and (hopefully) going on job interviews, I want to make sure I have a versatile plan that will work wherever I go and eventually land, with minimal if any roaming charges. I should also mention that I use my cell phone as my home phone, so I'm on it a lot.

As I said, I currently have AT&T, but I'm considering changing to their $34.99 for 350/3000 minute national network plan. Can anyone here give me some feedback on that? Will I end up with lots of roaming charges on this plan, or is there a way to set your phone to only dial/receive calls when on their network (like Sprint)? As a side note, what is considered roaming? Often times, my phone will say "extended area." Other times it will say "Roam." Is there a difference when it comes to roaming charges? Right now, I don't deal with roaming because I have the regional midwest plan, but because I'll be travelling a lot in the coming months outside of the midwest area, I want to make sure I'm covered on all bases.

And what's your take on Sprint's PCS network? Would you say it's more reliable than AT&T's or about the same?