Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

CENTRAL U.S. -- AT&T + Centennial?

Discussion in 'AT&T Wireless Forum' started by the1337n00b, Nov 1, 2009.

1. the1337n00b

the1337n00b New Member

Hello!
    I'm new to WA and this seems like a great form to post around in!

I'm an AT&T and iPhone 3Gs User and my coverage is horrible. :( (imagine that!)

I live in Rockford, Michigan and there's a cell tower right down the street from me, but unfortunately, it's not AT&T's signal. I live near the high school and you can't even get more than 2 bars in most places around here!

I've talked to AT&T many times about this and the best advice I get is "wait for us to get Centennial's signals."
    So I'm hoping the tower near me is a Centennial tower and I can use that signal once they acquire their signals. Both AT&T and Centennial's sites say that my area is FULL 3G coverage, but I barely get 2 bars of Edge here.

So my question for you guys is,
    Do you know ANY sort of estimate when Centennial may give out AT&T signals?
    I'd love any information you guys have. My phone is pretty important to me and i want to be able to use a service I pay for! :p

Thanks in advance!

2. M in LA

M in LA Mobile 27 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

My Phone:
    iPhone 12 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    It may be a while as AT&T's merger with Centennial is still not approved by the FCC, as AT&T had to agree to additional divestitures.

It's hard to say if, once the merger goes through, if an immediate effect will be felt. It could take several months (or likely longer) for things to be fully integrated, which would include you having access to present-Centennial towers for better service.