Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Anyone having problems using Modtones w/ vx6000

Discussion in 'LG Electronics' started by boxermansr, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. boxermansr

    boxermansr Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My Phone:
    HTC Diamond
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SprintPCS
    Has anyone been having problems using modtones with the 6000? I got mine today, and decided to download modtones tonight. First off, it took several tries and a total of about 28 minutes (it kept timing out I guess), then finally the last time around, it took about 5 minutes, and finally downloaded.

    I get it installed, and goto "new arrivals" I click on it and "Internal Server Error" pops up. It takes me back to the opening screen of modtones. I go to the "browse categories" section. I choose the first one available (I don't recall what it was), and it pops up "Internal Server Error". Once again back to the main screen. I load it up again, and goto "browse categories" and "voice ringers" -- wait a few seconds and boom, "Internal Server Erorr"

    I fire it up again and choose "search ringtones" i search by the name of the ringtone I want, and it finds it. I preview it fine. Then I tell it to download and it hangs for awhile, then says at the bottom "Network erorr" I click ok, but I guess it had it saved, because it prompted me if I wanted to set it as my ringer -- I did set it, and it worked fine. This is the only way I am/was able to get a ringtone, as searching the categories doesnt work.


    I was having a similar error a few weeks ago with my Samsung a530, except with that phone it kept telling me "APPLICATION ERROR - Memory Access" -- I'd called Verizon and they told me the phone was bad and to return it, which I did, came home w/ the new one, and tried modtones and it did the same thing. A few days later I got a call from Tech support and the gentleman told me he was having the same problem over the weekend (this was about 3 weeks ago). He said since then though he could not make it do it again, to show the other technicians.

    Bottom line.. I don't think the phone is defective (do any of you?). I think something is wrong w/ the network in my area, and Verizon just doesn't want to admit it. It's no big deal, because a few days later, my samsung was working fine w/ modtones, I'm assuming the same will (at least I hope) hold true w/ the 6000.

    Has anyone experienced this problem at all? With any LG handset, or any other? Maybe it's a network wide issue, that verizon doesnt know about, or doesnt want to admit to?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    JeRsEy
    My Phone:
    LG vx8500
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Tony E!

    Tony E! Retired Mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,190
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    yes enigami, i had same problem with vx4400 and vx6000 and then next day it works fine, i agree with you i think vz needs to work out their bugs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Tony E!

    Tony E! Retired Mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,190
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    IS THAT 2PAC?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. boxermansr

    boxermansr Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My Phone:
    HTC Diamond
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SprintPCS


    Will that work if you haven't subscribed to their picture messaging package? I didn't sign up for it yet, as I was waiting for my wife to get her phone next week, so I actually have someone to send pics too instead of nobody right now..
     
  6. boxermansr

    boxermansr Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My Phone:
    HTC Diamond
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SprintPCS
    I've tried this with wallpapers, and it keeps giving me the URL to goto vzwpix whatever .com. I signed up for the pic message promo and it was my understanding that the pic should just pop up on the phone, is this not correct? Can someone help me?
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice