Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

any one use straight talk pre paid?

Discussion in 'PRE-PAID Cell Phone Companies and Plans' started by drunkentool, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. drunkentool

    drunkentool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    iowa
    My Phone:
    motorola razr v3a
    :confused:i was wondering if any one was useing straight talk pre paid , and if so how is the
    $45.00 unlimited plan ?
     
  2. mth1068

    mth1068 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wiscosin
    My Phone:
    blackberry curve
    Wireless Provider(s):
    alltel, straight talk
    i just bought it today and it works good for the time that i have used it
     
  3. bobjr94

    bobjr94 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roy, WA
    We just got one today to replace t-mobile pre paid. T-mobile use to be a good deal but I think they doubled there text fees last year and now my wife can burn though 25$ of minutes in 2 weeks.
    Why spend 50$ a month for basic service and no web when you can get 1000 min & texts for 30$? So will find out how it works and post back once we had time to try it out.

    BTW: Anyone ported a number from t-mobile prepaid to Straight Talk ? It said it can take from 4 hours to 7 days. 4 hours is fine but not having a phone for a week is pushing it.
     
  4. oldkyman

    oldkyman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ky
    My Phone:
    casio rock
    Wireless Provider(s):
    vzw
    didn't straight talk start using t-mobile coverage area instead of vzw?
    just what i have heard that's why i ask
     
  5. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 25 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,050
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Max, iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    No, they still use Verizon's network. Switching to T-Mobile's network would be a major undertaking as ALL Straight Talk customers would have to change phones as Verizon uses CDMA and T-Mobile uses GSM, two completely incompatible technologies.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. oldkyman

    oldkyman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ky
    My Phone:
    casio rock
    Wireless Provider(s):
    vzw
    after 2 month's i'm about ready to say good-bye to
    att, does Straight Talk allow number porting?
    if so do you do before or after the service is activated
     
  7. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 25 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,050
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Max, iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    You should be able to port your number over, but your best bet is to contact them first to see if you can get their service and the best way to go about the port. According to their coverage map, Kentucky is partially covered.

    Check them out here: Welcome To Straight Talk

    Keep in mind your AT&T phones will be useless, as you're going to have to get one of Straight Talk's phones. You cannot use your AT&T phones with them. Also, you'll have an ETF with AT&T to contend with, though it should be reduced slightly as they have declining ETF's now.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    1 person likes this.
  8. Underwriter

    Underwriter Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    My Phone:
    Motorola T730
    My friends in Murphy, NC got Straight Talk about 6 weeks ago. They love it so far.
     
  9. rebel727

    rebel727 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct.
    I have been with AT&T for 6 years and I am jumping ship too. I can get two plans for 90 bucks with Straight Talk with unlimited everything and I am paying that for 550 min. plan with AT&T..of course no text or internet with the At&T plan I have. I have read countless reviews and Straight Talk seems like the way to go right now. Of course you can read personal horror stories about Straight Talk or Boost but I think the deal is too good to pass up. I can actually get by with the 1000 min. plan with Straight Talk which would be 60 bucks for me and my wife. That is a savings of 30 a month. I would also cancel my home land line since I would not have to worry about going over and that would save me around 300 a year. I currently have Comcast phone service. I can pay 19.95 a year with Magic Jack if I want a land line. Just seems like a no brainer to switch.
     
  10. unit731

    unit731 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Straight Talk is a deal between Wallymart and Tracfone.

    As with all Tracfone branches - you will need a new compatible phone. And purchased at Wallymart. Straight Talk, Net10, and Tracfone - are all the same company.
     
  11. jon714

    jon714 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Just got 2 Straight Talk phones (Samsung T255G) at Wal-Mart. Ported the numbers from VZW. It took 2 days. They use the T-Mobile network. I'm still experimenting, but the "tmomail.net" domain works for SMS messages. I haven't checked MMS messages yet, but they will probably work. They (Straight Talk) don't allow tethering to the computer, but the price sure is great!

    -Jon
     
  12. gpatrick900

    gpatrick900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    My Phone:
    Audiovox 8600
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Pageplus which uses Verizon
    I read that straight talk(tracfone) only uses Verizon & ATT. There are two different straight talk phones you can buy at Wal-mart. One uses Verizon & the other uses AT&T network.

    Unless straight talk(tracfone) came out with a T-mobile phone for certain areas that AT&T does not cover.
     
  13. Simon5282

    Simon5282 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Florida
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I talked my parents into dumping their family plan with T-Mobile and going to prepaid. My mom uses StraightTalk and my dad uses TracFone. They couldn't be any happier.

    StrightTalk is one of the best deal on the market if you are willing to settle on the features of your phone. You can find plans a little bit cheaper but they are hard to find In my opinion digging around for other providers like Pure Talk and H2O Wireless are not worth the few dollars a month for the convince of walking into Walmart and picking up your device, but check them out.
     
  14. spleck

    spleck Tool
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Middle GA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5 VZW
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I believe StraightTalk uses different networks depending on what phone you purchase, and in what area. For example, the E71 uses AT&T's network... and the SIM works in an AT&T locked iPhone. :)
     
  15. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 25 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,050
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Max, iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Per TracFone Wireless - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia:

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. spleck

    spleck Tool
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Middle GA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5 VZW
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I have not seen any evidence that Sprint is used by StraightTalk. The model of the phone will determine whether you're going to be using AT&T & T-Mobile (GSM Phones) or Verizon (CDMA Phones). Most of the phone selection is CDMA, but some recent additions to the lineup (not new phones, just new to ST) are GSM/UMTS phones. The location would determine whether the phone is used on T-Mobile or AT&T, but I believe that determination is made when you buy the phone--ie it doesn't select the better network, the SIM is homed to either T-Mobile or AT&T. If you're buying a Nokia E71, which has 850/1900 3G support, it is set to AT&T's network regardless of location.

    My suspicion is this:
    All CDMA phones: VZW
    3G GSM phones: AT&T
    GSM phones: T-Mobile, but AT&T in areas without T-Mobile
     
  17. hme83

    hme83 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    My Phone:
    Nokia E7, E70-2 & 6820
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    That's interesting. I tried putting a TracFone SIM in one of my phones a year or two back, much to the chagrin of it's owner. :D Didn't work and somehow messed up the TracFone account - they had to call customer service to get the problem resolved. But I cannot recall now if the TracFone SIM had already been activated - if not, that may have been what created the issue. (Since that time, even at&t has started "locking" their prepaid SIMs to the phone they are activated with.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. dan0

    dan0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    the easiest way to tell if a straight talk (net 10,tracphone) is GSM or CDMA is to look at the letter at the end of the model number
    Samsung t401g is GSM
    [​IMG]
    while the
    Samsung r451c is CDMA
    [​IMG]
    note the phones above are virtually identical
    the biggest differences are headphone jack, video recording and keyboard layout.

    Best bet is to research which network offers the best coverage in your area and select the corresponding model of phone
    phones are shown to you according to the zip you enter on the straight talk website
    use a zip of 29929 and you are shown only CDMA phones
    use a zip of 03101 and you are shown a mix of GSM & CDMA phones

    I personally have a lg231c
    and Samsung t401g
    the CDMA phone has much better reception in the rural areas around here

    I'd say if ya pick the correct network you'll be happy with straight talk
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice