Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Alltel (Cell1) went from prl 87 to 1105 overnight!

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by NokiaKrazy, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    A few days ago, I recieved an update on my prl. That was prl 87. then yesterday, I recieved a prl of 1105. What does this mean? Is this the new prl to allow me to use Alltel?
     
  2. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yes, PRL 1105 allows you to use Alltel's network if you have upgraded to one of the Greater, National or Total Freedom plans Alltel is launching in former CellularONE-Western Wireless markets. 87 was the previous PRL and is the current PRL for customers in the divested markets of Kansas & Nebraska.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Alright. That is good to know. I haven't updated my plan. I'm not sure if I will rush into that yet.

    Help me with something else here. I went roaming in Las Vegas today, I noticed that my roam indicator will blink very slowly. Before, I had a roam indicator all the time. What does this blinking roam indicator telling me?
     
  4. DemoMan

    DemoMan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jonesboro, AR
    My Phone:
    LG 5450
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    If you were on an Alltel National Freedom plan, that blinking indicator means that you are 'free' roaming. Package minutes apply as if you were on a native Alltel network. A solid indicator would mean that you are being charged for roaming.
     
  5. weldor

    weldor Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S W Missouri
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I did a *228 today and now have a prl of 11054. WW in Missouri is my provider.

    I haven't seen anyone else with a five digit prl. What gives?
     
  6. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Woah, 11054? It should be 1105 if you're on a new Alltel plan or 87 if you're on an old CellularONE plan. I have no idea why your PRL is listing itself as 11054, that's weird.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. weldor

    weldor Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S W Missouri
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    rancidhooligan, Do you think I should do it again and see what happens??
     
  8. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    This is true, CellularONE's National Freedom plans work the same way as Alltel's National Freedom plans. Home indicator or blinking roaming indicator, you're good. Solid roaming indicator, roaming.
    You could, I guess.:confused: I think 11054 is just 1105 mislabeled but it could lead to other problems so I would dial *228 from a digital home area and update the PRL again. Also remember that unless you have upgraded to a new Freedom plan you should still have PRL 87, not PRL 1105.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. weldor

    weldor Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S W Missouri
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I havent done any plan updates, still supposed on the WW plan "free roaming west on Missippi".

    I will try the update again after while and see what happens.
     
  10. weldor

    weldor Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S W Missouri
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I just did another update and it went through like it should and when finished it says prl 11054. I guess when I go out of my home area I'll find out.:D
     
  11. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    If you're will on the WWC-CellularONE "Western Home" plan you probably need to call tech support and have them manually load PRL 87 into your phone. From what I understand, you're not supposed to have PRL 1105 (or PRL 11054, whatever that is) unless you're on a "Freedom" plan.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Uh oh! I have prl 1105. I HAVE NOT upgraded to the new Stayfree plans or whatever they are called. I'm still on the 45 dollar Western Plan.
     
  13. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Not really a huge deal. If you want you can call tech support and have them manually "push" PRL 87 back into your phone or, you can upgrade to one of the new National Freedom plans and take advantage of the Alltel (and, by roaming agreement, Verizon) networks. There is a $44.99 National Freedom plan with 1,000 anytime minutes, unlimited night/weekend and unlimited mobile to mobile. The thing about the Freedom plans is that the night/weekend and mobile to mobile minutes apply anywhere your phone says home or the roaming indicator is blinking, so it's a much better plan IMHO for only $5 more per month. And, unless you're upgrading your handset, you don't have to sign a contract, either. The only thing is that mobile to mobile doesn't appy to Alltel from CellularONE... yet. Once the billing conversion is complete, then mobile to mobile will apply from CellularONE to Alltel and vice versa, although at that point it will just be Alltel to Alltel.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    So you are telling me that this new PRL has dumped Sprint PCS as a roaming partner?
     
  15. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Honestly, I have no idea. I know only that PRL 1105(4) has WWC, Alltel and Verizon networks included in it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Sounds good. Thank you.
     
  17. DemoMan

    DemoMan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jonesboro, AR
    My Phone:
    LG 5450
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Sprint is not dumped in the PRL. The PRL is much different from the WW PRL's I've looked at though.

    Alltel PRL's typically roam as follows:
    Alltel
    Verizon
    US Cellular
    Sprint
    Other Free Roaming partners
    Fee Roaming

    That is the general idea of how PRL's are organized.

    If you would like to look at some of the previous PRL's for either Alltel or WW, go to the this site: http://mallard.rainyday.mb.ca/~dialtone/

    Hope that helps,
    Brad
     
  18. NokiaKrazy

    NokiaKrazy 2010. I'm still around
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My Phone:
    Blackberry
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Update:

    Now my PRL has automatically gone from 1105 to 87! I did not call in to *228 to to this.

    And as of yesterday, I have updated to the National Freedom plan. Takes effect on the 6th.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice