Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

About Tri-Band Phone in Illinois

Discussion in 'T-Mobile Forum' started by monkeycat, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. monkeycat

    monkeycat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, This is a great forum actually for T-mobile user.
    Now I live in Champaign-Urbana Illinois, and I plan to purchase a new tri-band PDA phone (900/1800/1900). However I am not sure it works or not since I have already checked the coverage map and still confused. Anyone could help me to solve this problem? Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Your new PDA will work, but not everywhere on the TM coverage map. T-Mobile's native service is all 1900, but some of their roaming is 850. When you look at the coverage map here:

    http://www.t-mobile.com/coverage/

    The areas around Urbana that are labeled "850 MHz roaming coverage" your PDA won't work. Your PDA will work in areas labeled "T-Mobile roaming coverage"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. siliconvalley785

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, US
    My Phone:
    E62, BlackJack, L6, V551
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7100/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

    What Matt said is pretty much on target. You could probably play it safe and get a quad-band phone and not have to worry about it. That way you will be able to have full coverage including roaming coverage.

    Pritesh
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yes you see the 900 and 1800 bands are bands that are used overseas......pretty much every national cellular carrier here in America uses 1900 and some that have been around long enough like Verizon and Cingular have 800 and 850 licenses.......T-Mobile will roam off of other companies that are GSM 1900 and GSM 850......since they dont have 850 licenses themself
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice