Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

6360 troubles

Discussion in 'NOKIA' started by jdioguardi, Jul 3, 2002.

  1. jdioguardi

    jdioguardi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Nokia 6360 that was used on Suncom (Telecorp). I tried to activate it on my carrier , SunCom (Triton) and it wouldn't work. The SunCom tech had never seen a 6360 and didn't have any specific instructions but we got the phone to take the new number and ESN (I think). For some reason, it shows the tag "Traveling" and it won't find the Suncom network. I had to reprogram my v60 to use but I still want the 3360. Anyone have any ideas or suggestions?? ASnyone know what "traveling" means?.....ROAM?
     
  2. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I've never heard of "Traveling" before but my guess is that might be roaming although I really don't know. SunCom (Triton PCS) should be offering the Nokia 6360 in there stores about a month from now or so.

    If you can I'd take the phone back and see if you can get your money back and just buy the phone when its avaible directly from your SunCom.
     
  3. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yes... Travelling is roaming... If you look at their coverage maps, the yellow is "Travelling coverage area". lol just another crazy name for it. Anyway, your phone is a 6360 not a 3360, right? You say 6360 initially but then mention 3360 near the end of your post. Just wondering.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jdioguardi

    jdioguardi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry for the mistake, it is a 6360. It must be locked to Telecorp...........this sucks.
     
  5. Guest

    Guest Guest

    SunCom (Telecorp) and SunCom (Triton) are both AT&T partners...they use SOC 2049. SunCom (Telecorp) does not SOC lock their phones...so if you are getting "Traveling" on your display, its because a setting in your phone is off.

    Go into the long programming of your phone (*3001#12345#) and check the settings....under NAM1 you should have the following:

    Home System ID - 1645 (The same no matter where you are on Triton...once they send out a reprogram to your phone this will change to either 4210 or 4214)

    Home SOC - 2049 (VERY IMPORTANT...Otherwise the phone won't find SunCom's network)

    Mobile Station ID (Your phone number)

    Set these....power off and on...you will see SunCom on the display.
     
  6. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I followed the instructions on my 6360 but did not see where to find the Home SOC code. Am I doing something wrong?
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice