Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

6340i Test Mode

Discussion in 'NOKIA' started by mber, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. mber

    mber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm seeking some test mode assistance with a Nokia 6340i on Cingular. This is a GAIT phone that is capable of analog,TDMA and GSM. I'm trying to determine if my coverage is good enough on GSM to upgrade to a straight GSM phone (Treo 650 when available). I can enter test mode on the phone,but I need to better understand the codes that I'm looking at in order to determine the mode that I'm operating in (analog, TDMA or GSM). Can anyone assist?
     
  2. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    You can search the forums under my author username, in the old forums too, for information on the test modes and it's meaning.

    But there is a simplier way. Go to Menu->Messages->scroll up until you see 'Service Command Editor' (or something like that, I forget). If it is Bold you are in GSM; if it is grey, dimmed out, you are in TDMA or analog. You can leave it in this place and observe it switching between grey and Boldface to see your coverage.

    Also, during a call, if you screen says 'Mute' in the lower right corner, that is TDMA; if it says 'Hold' that is GSM.

    It helped me decide switching to a full GSM phone. One last point; when you phone switches to TDMA because of poor signal, it will not go back to GSM automatically (even if the GSM is stronger) until the TDMA is lost completely, or until 6 minutes has expired. That's the GAIT system flaw. Don't be fooled into thinking your coverage (GSM) is poor.

    You can re power your phone if in doubt, that will force it to come up GSM (if available). There is a software reboot, but I forget it's code...something like *3360*. Or try a 30 day GSM phone trial...you can go back I'm sure.

    Looking at the Test Mode codes really doesn't give more information because when it is in one mode (say TDMA), the GSM data is frozen, so you really don't know if you are in range of any towers.

    Good luck
     
    #2 viewfly, Jan 10, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2005
  3. mpallo

    mpallo Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6590i, 6820b
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US

    http://www.bryte.net/gsm/netmon.asp

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice