Results 1 to 15 of 15

TMobile in 949 area code

Hello. Anyone experiencing problems receiving calls on the Tmobile network from 949 land lines while in the 949 area? I activated ...

  1. #1
    I have arrived!
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    2

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Hello. Anyone experiencing problems receiving calls on the Tmobileicon network from 949 land lines while in the 949 area? I activated my new Tmobileicon phone early last week. Since that time I have replaced the phone and sim card as well as requested a new cell number. I still cannot receive incoming 949 land line calls. I talked to TMobile's customer service (many times in fact) and it was finally said that I needed to call my Telco company and resolve it with them. They said my new cell number wasn't registered correctly with them. Anyone else had same/similar experience? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Banned ILUVSOCAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Redwood Valley, CA
    Posts
    2,485
    Phone(s)
    Nokia 3600(me)
    SE T616(me),T226(mom)
    Samsung SGH-x426(me)
    Nokia 7210(dad)
    Provider(s)
    AT&T(Me),Cingular(Me,Mom),Edge Wireless(Dad)
    Devices
    BlueTrek G2 Bluetooth Headset

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Where's the 949 area code?

  3. #3
    Go Lakers! larry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    13,715
    Phone(s)
    LG Optimus G
    Provider(s)
    Sprint
    Likes
    45
    Images
    166

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    South Orange County: Irvine, Lake Forest, Laguna, etc.

  4. #4

    cryogenic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,443
    Phone(s)
    Samsung A990
    Provider(s)
    Verizon
    Devices
    iriver H10 6GB mp3 player

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    T-Mobileicon is most likely right, however... the local telco in that area has not registered T-mobiles exchanges in their database as a known exchange so they can't call your phone. I've heard of this happening in other areas where Verizonicon is the local telco... it eventually gets resolved, but it can't hurt to call and have them put in a trouble ticket on it.... Maybe even your friends should call and do the same, since they're the ones that are based in that area.

  5. #5
    Banned ILUVSOCAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Redwood Valley, CA
    Posts
    2,485
    Phone(s)
    Nokia 3600(me)
    SE T616(me),T226(mom)
    Samsung SGH-x426(me)
    Nokia 7210(dad)
    Provider(s)
    AT&T(Me),Cingular(Me,Mom),Edge Wireless(Dad)
    Devices
    BlueTrek G2 Bluetooth Headset

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Ohhh, OC, THAT place [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img] lol

  6. #6
    Guest

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Thanks for the replies. Cryogenic - isn't it Tmobileicon's responsibility to make sure they are registered with all of the local carriers? I have a trouble ticket in with PacBell - haven't heard back yet. Now PacBell isn't some mom and pop provider. How the heck could Tmobileicon have missed PacBell? Maybe I am looking at the issue the wrong way but it just seems like bad business to me. Just curious how it works - i don't have a background in Telcom. Thanks again for your quick response.

  7. #7
    Keep on swimming... Jodi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    1,072
    Phone(s)
    Motorola Droid X
    Provider(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Devices
    MacBook Pro 15"
    Likes
    2

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Originally posted by: larry
    South Orange County: Irvine, Lake Forest, Laguna, etc.

    This is the area where my Cingular service barely worked! My husband works in this area. We were lucky if we didn't disconnect more than 2-3 times in one call. If Cingular is this bad, I can't imagine TMOicon doing much better.

  8. #8
    Go Lakers! larry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    13,715
    Phone(s)
    LG Optimus G
    Provider(s)
    Sprint
    Likes
    45
    Images
    166

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Jodi,

    Actually Cingular/T-Mobileicon just built a new site in Irvine on top of the Spectrasites tower on the border of Lake Forest near Muirlands & Bake. This should solve some of the long time Cingular problems in the area.

  9. #9
    Junior Member calbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Glendale, CA
    Posts
    79
    Phone(s)
    Motorola T-720
    Provider(s)
    Cingular

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Originally posted by: Anonymous
    Thanks for the replies. Cryogenic - isn't it Tmobileicon's responsibility to make sure they are registered with all of the local carriers? I have a trouble ticket in with PacBell - haven't heard back yet. Now PacBell isn't some mom and pop provider. How the heck could Tmobileicon have missed PacBell? Maybe I am looking at the issue the wrong way but it just seems like bad business to me. Just curious how it works - i don't have a background in Telcom. Thanks again for your quick response.
    I have had somewhat of a similar issue trying to place a call from my T-Mobile phone to a particular 800 number where I get the landline recording stating that I have reached a number that can not be accessed from my local calling area.
    The 800 number works fine from the local PacBell land line (same area code) as well as AT&Ticon and Verizonicon mobile phones. When talking to T-Mobile CS they insist that its the owner of the 800 number that has not registered (the T-Mobile) area code and prefix combination for access. Granted that may be the case I am amazed at the fact that T-Mobile would not be more agressive in making sure that these issues are resolved for their own competitive sake. Being new in the CA/NV market I thought they would welcome leads such as these to get their service accessible to/from all area codes and prefixes instead of advising the customer to call a corporation or Pac Bell in Nels case and get the issue straightened out?! My case is still unresolved 6 weeks later.

  10. #10
    Keep on swimming... Jodi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    1,072
    Phone(s)
    Motorola Droid X
    Provider(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Devices
    MacBook Pro 15"
    Likes
    2

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Originally posted by: larry
    Jodi,

    Actually Cingular/T-Mobileicon just built a new site in Irvine on top of the Spectrasites tower on the border of Lake Forest near Muirlands & Bake. This should solve some of the long time Cingular problems in the area.

    Glad to hear they're address problems, but having Verizonicon for over a month now, the service is night & day! Won't be switching back any time soon....

    Jodi

  11. #11
    Signal Go Down De Hole... ZaphodB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    OC (USA) / 77 (FR)
    Posts
    3,240
    Phone(s)
    LG VX5600
    iPhone 3GS
    LG Chocolate GSM
    Provider(s)
    Verizon(US) Orange(FR)
    Likes
    2

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    I have a similar problem calling a T-Mobileicon phone in the 818-445 (Burbank) rate area from a client in North Hollywood. Yet when I call my own phone, which is in the 310-980 (Santa Monica) rate area from the same phone, it goes through. Same with 323-842 (Los Angeles DA09). Weird.
    I can help you in English. Puedo ayudarle en espa˝ol. Je peux vous aider en franšais. Posso aiutarli in italiano. Ich kann Sie auf Deutsch helfen. Я могу помочь вам по-русски.

  12. #12

    cryogenic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,443
    Phone(s)
    Samsung A990
    Provider(s)
    Verizon
    Devices
    iriver H10 6GB mp3 player

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Maybe you should try calling that same TM number from another phone off the same CO and see if it too has problems getting through to it..... I would assume other exchanges on other CO's have little or no trouble getting through.. but I wonder if it's just localized to that one general area? I hope that made sense..

  13. #13

  14. #14
    Guest

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    Let's face it. In the 949 area T-Mobileicon sucks. I'm in Costa Mesa and it's spotty.

  15. #15

    cryogenic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,443
    Phone(s)
    Samsung A990
    Provider(s)
    Verizon
    Devices
    iriver H10 6GB mp3 player

    Default TMobile in 949 area code

    that's nice to hear, except that this thread really had nothing to do with coverage in the 949 area code... it was merely the poster stating that 949 area codes were unable to complete calls to his phone. Granted his phone may in fact be registered in the 949 area code... and he may be physically on a tower on the 949 switch, but apparently his signal is perfectly fine and the issue lies somewhere within the local infrastructure, whether it be on TM's end or PacBell's end. On that note, a couple things have come to mind that the original poster might have tried or might not.

    Have you tried calling that same 949 number back from your mobile phone? If so, how did your mobile number show up on caller ID? or did it?

    Is it EVERY 949 number that has issues? Have you tried going to a payphone and calling your mobile number while you're holding both phones?

    How about from a 949 mobile to your mobile?

    I dunno, just a few ideas you might wanna try.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Connecticut- Hartford Area - Tmobile vs. ATT which one is better?
    By sv2004 in forum Northeastern US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 4:52 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-31-2004, 4:16 PM
  3. TMobile in the Harrisburg area
    By Sunshinedeg in forum Northeastern US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-16-2003, 10:00 PM
  4. Wrong unlock code.. what now? Tmobile/Voicestream.
    By Hispanic82023 in forum Northeastern US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2003, 10:33 AM
  5. unlocking code and tmobile
    By in forum Central US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 6:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About Us | Advertising | Privacy Statement | Legal | Press | Feedback/Contact


Forum feeds:         Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Copyright 1997-2014 Wireless Advisor, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.