Results 1 to 16 of 16

Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

Hey all Question. I know that Sprint phones can't be transferred to Verizon ...but what about Virgin Mobile phones?? Can they ...

  1. #1
    kjo
    kjo has left the building.

    kjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,073
    Phone(s)
    Rooted HTC MyTouch 3g,
    Rooted Apple Iphone
    unlocked also
    Provider(s)
    T-Mobile2Go, (Verizon(previous for many years))
    Devices
    Apple Ipod Touch 5th generation
    Likes
    3

    Default Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Hey all

    Question. I know that Sprinticon phones can't be transferred to Verizonicon...but what about Virgin Mobile phones?? Can they be unlocked and transferred over?
    Virgin mobile phones only run in the PCS 1900 band right? Would that affect it not getting good service on Verizonicon.

    My mom has a Virgin mobile phone that she likes... thinking about turning their verizon plan into a family plan and transferring her phone if she can. I'm not sure so wanted to ask.

    Thanks for any help or feedback. !!!!!

  2. #2


    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    10,292
    Phone(s)
    HTC Thunderbolt
    HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Provider(s)
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Likes
    7
    Images
    130

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    If Virginicon phones are only allowed to run on the PCS band then you will have coverage issues, because I don't think Verizonicon operates PCS in your area(I think they're on the Cellular band in Oregon)... Verizonicon operates on the Cellular(800 Mhz) band in most areas; they now have some areas with both, Cellular and PCS though.

  3. #3
    I *am* a mobile phone TProphet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    576
    Phone(s)
    Sanyo 7200
    Nokia 6010
    Nokia 6015i
    Provider(s)
    Sprint, Cingular, Virgin Mobile Canada

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Virginicon Mobile sets a MSL (programming code) on their handsets. You can't reset this to 000000, so you can't activate the handsets OTA with VZW. Without OTA activation, you can't load a VZW PRL on the handset, so you'll be out of luck.

    You can program the handset manually if you have the data cable and the Phone Service Tool (PST), but it's probably not worth it. It'll only work for basic voice service even if you manage to do this (no SMS).

  4. #4
    \/\/ireless/\dvisor Tony E!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    City of /\ngels CA.
    Posts
    10,277
    Phone(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Provider(s)
    AT&T
    Devices
    Plantronics
    Likes
    29
    Images
    19

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    there have been Virginicon Mobile Kyocera Sliders that have been activated on Verizonicon, only problem is that features like GIN do bot work until the correct software is flashed into the phone...

    If it's a Virginicon Moblie phone follow these steps:
    Log onto verizonwireless.com and enter in the new ESN

    111111 [OK]

    Programming [OK]
    Enter Secuirity Code: 868666 [OK]

    Srvc Sec. Code [OK]
    change 868666 --> 000000 [OK]
    [BACK]

    Verizonicon needs it to be 000000 so that you can do Over The Air programming and PRL update. Remember to use 000000 and not 868666 as the SVC code next time you go back into this programming screen.

    (NAM2 is used by Verizon, might need to enter the following info for NAM1 also):

    NAM2 Info [OK]
    MIN [OK]
    [BACK 10 times to delete] 0000000658 --> 10-digits phone num [OK]
    check MDN, should be the same
    Home SID [OK]
    find out your home SID from http://www.bridog.net/cellular/sid.txt
    drop the leading 0's, ie 00030 -> 30
    Extra NAM Info [OK]
    CDMA NAM Info [OK]
    Home SID/NID [OK]
    enter in the same SID as above for both SID and NID

    exit programming screen, press hang up

    now dial *22801 option 1 to activate with verizon, it'll also update the PRL

    now verify your PRL
    ##786 [TALK]

    Verizon's PRL should show 42xxx, 50xxx, or 52xxx or whatever current PRL thay are using.

    (oOO \ (||||)(||||) / OOo)

    Any misspellings or grammatical errors in the above statement are intentional;
    they are placed there for the enjoyment of those who like to point them out.

  5. #5
    Moto's Not So Bad Anymore SQFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Davidson, NC
    Posts
    565
    Phone(s)
    Motorola Q9m
    Samsung SCH-u740 (inactiv
    LG VX8500 (inactive)
    Motorola E815 (inactive)
    Provider(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Images
    11

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Those instructions won't work everywhere, and here's why:

    1) The MSL is set by an algorithm off the ESN; the one you give may not work for everyone.
    2) For ported numbers, the MDN and MIN are different.
    3) That txt file for the SID gives a 404.
    4) *22801 doesn't work everywhere; here it connects you to Alltel! *22800 is VZW here.

  6. #6
    Technology Aficionado Gamer03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Florida Everglades
    Posts
    9,230
    Phone(s)
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Provider(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Devices
    Slingbox HD;Kenwood DNX9960;Verizon 4G iPad 3
    Likes
    232
    Images
    74

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Tony, where did you learn to do all of this?
    My Carriers:

    Cellular One (TDMA) [1999-2000]>>AT&T (TDMA) [2000-2001]>>Cingular (TDMA) [2001-2003]>>Sprint [2003-2005]>>Verizon Wireless [2005 to present]>>Sprint SERO [2006-2008]>>AT&T [2008 to 2009]

  7. #7
    \/\/ireless/\dvisor Tony E!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    City of /\ngels CA.
    Posts
    10,277
    Phone(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Provider(s)
    AT&T
    Devices
    Plantronics
    Likes
    29
    Images
    19

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Quote Originally Posted by SQFreak
    Those instructions won't work everywhere, and here's why:

    1) The MSL is set by an algorithm off the ESN; the one you give may not work for everyone.
    2) For ported numbers, the MDN and MIN are different.
    3) That txt file for the SID gives a 404.
    4) *22801 doesn't work everywhere; here it connects you to Alltel! *22800 is VZW here.
    no it may not be for everyone, but it does and has worked for some if not check Hofo and obviously you have to use the codes that correspond to your area...
    the question was, will it work with Verizonicon, yes it will though like you say it may not work for some, as far as ported numbers go, that wasn't part of the question...

    (oOO \ (||||)(||||) / OOo)

    Any misspellings or grammatical errors in the above statement are intentional;
    they are placed there for the enjoyment of those who like to point them out.

  8. #8
    Quase Três Anos Com WA! Gideon H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Higienópolis, São Paulo
    Posts
    2,233
    Phone(s)
    Motorola E398
    Provider(s)
    TIM Brasil
    Devices
    Palm Tungsten E2, iPod, Presario V2311, HS850

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    You tell 'em Tony . Sport those bold lettahs... lol.
    Sem fronteiras... esse é como eu quero morar minha vida.

  9. #9
    \/\/ireless/\dvisor Tony E!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    City of /\ngels CA.
    Posts
    10,277
    Phone(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Provider(s)
    AT&T
    Devices
    Plantronics
    Likes
    29
    Images
    19

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Quote Originally Posted by Gamer03
    Tony, where did you learn to do all of this?
    it was given to me by a couple of members at Hofo that have hacked their Virginicon phones to work with Verizonicon and i also experimented with a Virginicon Mobile Slider, though like i said some of the features don't work like GIN....
    to me it's not worth the headache, but i was curious to see if it would work and besides Verizonicon now carries the Slider, this was back when the Sly was not carried by Verzion so that also explains why some of the sids are outdated......

    (oOO \ (||||)(||||) / OOo)

    Any misspellings or grammatical errors in the above statement are intentional;
    they are placed there for the enjoyment of those who like to point them out.

  10. #10
    \/\/ireless/\dvisor Tony E!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    City of /\ngels CA.
    Posts
    10,277
    Phone(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Provider(s)
    AT&T
    Devices
    Plantronics
    Likes
    29
    Images
    19

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Quote Originally Posted by Gideon H
    You tell 'em Tony . Sport those bold lettahs... lol.

    lol.......

    (oOO \ (||||)(||||) / OOo)

    Any misspellings or grammatical errors in the above statement are intentional;
    they are placed there for the enjoyment of those who like to point them out.

  11. #11
    kjo
    kjo has left the building.

    Threadstarter
    kjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,073
    Phone(s)
    Rooted HTC MyTouch 3g,
    Rooted Apple Iphone
    unlocked also
    Provider(s)
    T-Mobile2Go, (Verizon(previous for many years))
    Devices
    Apple Ipod Touch 5th generation
    Likes
    3

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Thanks for the information. I saved it and will try it out just to see if it works if they decided to get Verizonicon. If not...I'll tell her just to get a different phone.

    thanks!

  12. #12
    I *am* a mobile phone TProphet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    576
    Phone(s)
    Sanyo 7200
    Nokia 6010
    Nokia 6015i
    Provider(s)
    Sprint, Cingular, Virgin Mobile Canada

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    The MSL is variable on each Sprinticon handset, but is generally the same for every phone with the same equipment type on Virginicon Mobile. For example, all Kyocera 2255's for Virginicon Mobile have the MSL of 868666, and apparently this is true for Kyocera Slider handsets as well.

  13. #13
    Junior Member gaspar_4444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Hello, I need unlock the MSL code from my LG PM 225 Sprinticon. I have a OKTSL code, but it is for programming service no for download PRL...

    Please Help ME!

    I'm from Argentina and I need use it to Movistar.

  14. #14
    Moto's Not So Bad Anymore SQFreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Davidson, NC
    Posts
    565
    Phone(s)
    Motorola Q9m
    Samsung SCH-u740 (inactiv
    LG VX8500 (inactive)
    Motorola E815 (inactive)
    Provider(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Images
    11

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Only someone inside Sprinticon PCS's technical support department can give that to you, and only with the ESN number of the phone. Good luck getting it. Unless it's gotten easier, you'll need to be really good at social engineering to get the MSL.
    Verizon Communications: Make Progress Every Day
    Words to live by.

  15. #15


    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kingsport, TN
    Posts
    6,306
    Phone(s)
    iPhone 5
    Provider(s)
    T-Mobile
    Likes
    53

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    I highly advise against trying to program a Virgin Mobile phone on to Verizonicon Wireless. Verizonicon does indeed use voice on 850 Mhz in many areas. I'm not sure but I think Virgin Mobile phones only run on the 1900 Mhz band. Sure you can sometimes roam on 1900 Mhz CDMA but that is not always the case. For example in my area Verizon users can use Alltel but they CAN'T use Sprinticon PCS. Both Verizon and Alltel use the 850 Mhz frequency in my area. So if you had a 1900 Mhz phone on Verizon and came to my area you would have no signal whatsoever because Verizon forbids roaming on Sprinticon in my area in the PRL. With a 1900 Mhz only CDMA phone you may find yourself without signal in many places including your own home! I highly recommend that your mother just get a Verizon Wireless phone.

  16. #16
    Junior Member gaspar_4444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

    Quote Originally Posted by SQFreak View Post
    Only someone inside Sprinticon PCS's technical support department can give that to you, and only with the ESN number of the phone. Good luck getting it. Unless it's gotten easier, you'll need to be really good at social engineering to get the MSL.
    Somebody that live in the United Sates can call to Sprinticon, to solicit my MSL code? The phone number is 1-800-SPRINT1, that is free.

    I can't call to Sprint, the cost of the call is very expensive.

    The ESN number is XXXXXXXX, it is a LG PM 225 Sprint

    Thank You for your help

    If you want some products from Argentina. I'm very happy to help them.
    Last edited by bobolito; 08-14-2006 at 1:44 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin Mobile Cell phone for sale!
    By kjo in forum eBay® Auctions ONLY
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-28-2004, 12:37 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-14-2004, 9:01 AM
  3. New Virgin mobile phones
    By Drew05 in forum GENERAL Wireless Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 4:14 PM
  4. Virgin Mobile agreement/new phones
    By cellyeah in forum All Other Brands of Wireless Phones
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 5:09 PM
  5. Japanese cell phones run on what network?
    By n3985 in forum GENERAL Wireless Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2002, 8:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About Us | Advertising | Privacy Statement | Legal | Press | Feedback/Contact


Forum feeds:         Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Copyright 1997-2014 Wireless Advisor, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.