Replacing lost Verizon phone

I'm a rookie. Stupidly, I lost my very nice Verizon LG EnV2. Was told by Best Buy cell phone rep that ...

I made my first post!

Question Replacing lost Verizon phone

I'm a rookie. Stupidly, I lost my very nice Verizonicon LG EnV2. Was told by Best Buy cell phone rep that I could buy a Verizonicon no contract phone, call in to change ENS number and use that phone. Folks at Verizon store said nope, can't do it. Any body out there that has done this or tried and failed? I am currently 11 months into a 2 year Verizon contract.

Phone(s)
    BB 9550, Moto Droid
    Retired: BB Curve, LG9100
    Moto Z6tv, E815,V710
    Nokia 3285, Nokia 6185
    Provider(s)
    Verizon on both phones
    Images

Default Re: Replacing lost Verizon phone

If by no contract phone you mean buying a prepaid and activating it on your number they were correct, you can not do that. You can however by any postpaid phone at full retail price and put that on your account. Another possibility is, depending on what service plan you are on, you may become eligible for a discounted upgrade once you hit the 1 year mark. If you are 11 months into it you may only be a few weeks away from saving a lot of money.
    Cars became my job, so phones became my hobby. Car's are not my job anymore, but phones are still a fun hobby.

Phone(s)
    Samsung Moment
    Provider(s)
    Sprint

If cost is an issue, you can always look into a used/refurbed phone. Just be sure that the ESN is good.

I made my first post!