1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the Verizon Code for updating software?

Discussion in 'LG Electronics' started by treydawg, Sep 1, 2003.

  1. treydawg

    treydawg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The * number?
     
    #1
  2. Trojan

    Trojan Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    *228 Send, option 2.
     
    #2
  3. dave45

    dave45 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    what exactly does that do???
     
    #3
  4. Rax

    Rax Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updates your PRL (roaming list) and (rarely) your phone's software.
     
    #4
  5. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    umm dosent update the software. just the PRL. you need to get the phone flashed to get the software updated.
     
    #5
  6. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    For you VZW techs, what does *350 do? I think it is a secret [​IMG]
     
    #6
  7. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess nobody knows?? I know you techs are out there!
     
    #7
  8. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    where did you hear of this code?
     
    #8
  9. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi djtonye... it was on my phone's outgoing call list after they programmed it for the first time. I haven't dared try dialling it again in case it screws up my phone. Any ideas?
     
    #9
  10. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    actually i just tried it on mine and it didn't do anything,(curiosity killed the cat) so i wouldn't worried about, i asked one of the techs at Verizon and he had no idea.
     
    #10
  11. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    It must be a regional code... I just tried it and I got a series of short beeps (not the busy signal) and then it hung up. Just curious what this does. I'm in SC.
     
    #11
  12. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    3
    I did the *350 and got the same thing that apaxi got. A couple of short beeps and then it hung up. I think it sends out your GPS location to your car and then your car comes and picks you up. You know kinda of like in James Bond.[​IMG] Though it didn't work for me, I must not have the right equipment installed on my car.
     
    #12
  13. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    the latest prl version when you update with *228 is 50110, i hear it doesn't cover you as good as ver.50096
     
    #13
  14. Cenobyte

    Cenobyte Decepticon Air Commander
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it must be regional, because it does nothing here in the Western US. It probably just registers your phone on the network in your area. Codes used to exist for that purpose, though it's kind of pointless these days.

    Want another code to play around with? Dial #832. You should get a recording telling you whether or not your phone works. (Another pointless code in my opinion.)
     
    #14
  15. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok confirm, this new version does affect your coverage and roaming as describe by Bill Radio.
     
    #15
  16. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    No coverage difference for me. Again, in SC market.
     
    #16
  17. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    you will if you do the *228 and upgrade your PRL.
     
    #17
  18. apaxi

    apaxi Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that yesterday and have 110. I haven't noticed a difference in my area...
     
    #18
  19. pianoman41

    pianoman41 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works everywhere--the three beeps is what it's supposed to sound like. *350 is like the old *18 for Follow-Me-Roaming. It's more for analog coverage than digital coverage because it does register your phone with the network in your area. If you go to an area outside of your normal home area and get notified that you have new voicemail when you never heard the phone ring in the first place, this can help with that problem. It tells the network where you are so the calls can get delivered. Most digital networks make this call obsolete, but if you go into an analog-only area, you may want to use it.
     
    #19
  20. pianoman41

    pianoman41 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0

    This code was put in place so the sales staff at Verizon Wireless stores could test your phone before you left to make sure your phone was working. Most sales staff I see just call the landline number of the store in which they are working to test, but this is airtime free and makes sure you're using the right network (A vs B).
     
    #20
  21. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,278
    Likes Received:
    29
    true Pianoman, but most phones now a days don't have analog, so where does that come in with the lg 6000? would it work for digital phones?
     
    #21
  22. Swordmasterblack

    Swordmasterblack Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    *350 actually turned follow me roaming off *35 turned it on. they may have forced your phone to analog to run something, then swithed it back to digtal. if they were working in analog with the phon the *350 would turn of the roaming mode. Also *35/*350 only work in the old Bell atlantic mobile markets, i.e. the northest.
     
    #22

Share This Page