1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Virgin mobile cell phones on Verizon network

Discussion in 'Western US Wireless Forum' started by kjo, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. kjo

    kjo Bronze Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Oregon
    My Phone:
    Rooted HTC MyTouch 3g,
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile2Go, (Verizon(previous for many years))
    Hey all

    Question. I know that Sprint phones can't be transferred to Verizon...but what about Virgin Mobile phones?? Can they be unlocked and transferred over?
    Virgin mobile phones only run in the PCS 1900 band right? Would that affect it not getting good service on Verizon.

    My mom has a Virgin mobile phone that she likes... thinking about turning their verizon plan into a family plan and transferring her phone if she can. I'm not sure so wanted to ask.

    Thanks for any help or feedback. !!!!!
     
  2. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,292
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    If Virgin phones are only allowed to run on the PCS band then you will have coverage issues, because I don't think Verizon operates PCS in your area(I think they're on the Cellular band in Oregon)... Verizon operates on the Cellular(800 Mhz) band in most areas; they now have some areas with both, Cellular and PCS though.
     
  3. TProphet

    TProphet I *am* a mobile phone Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    My Phone:
    Sanyo 7200
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Cingular, Virgin Mobile Canada
    Virgin Mobile sets a MSL (programming code) on their handsets. You can't reset this to 000000, so you can't activate the handsets OTA with VZW. Without OTA activation, you can't load a VZW PRL on the handset, so you'll be out of luck.

    You can program the handset manually if you have the data cable and the Phone Service Tool (PST), but it's probably not worth it. It'll only work for basic voice service even if you manage to do this (no SMS).
     
  4. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    there have been Virgin Mobile Kyocera Sliders that have been activated on Verizon, only problem is that features like GIN do bot work until the correct software is flashed into the phone...

    If it's a Virgin Moblie phone follow these steps:
    Log onto verizonwireless.com and enter in the new ESN

    111111 [OK]

    Programming [OK]
    Enter Secuirity Code: 868666 [OK]

    Srvc Sec. Code [OK]
    change 868666 --> 000000 [OK]
    [BACK]

    Verizon needs it to be 000000 so that you can do Over The Air programming and PRL update. Remember to use 000000 and not 868666 as the SVC code next time you go back into this programming screen.

    (NAM2 is used by Verizon, might need to enter the following info for NAM1 also):

    NAM2 Info [OK]
    MIN [OK]
    [BACK 10 times to delete] 0000000658 --> 10-digits phone num [OK]
    check MDN, should be the same
    Home SID [OK]
    find out your home SID from http://www.bridog.net/cellular/sid.txt
    drop the leading 0's, ie 00030 -> 30
    Extra NAM Info [OK]
    CDMA NAM Info [OK]
    Home SID/NID [OK]
    enter in the same SID as above for both SID and NID

    exit programming screen, press hang up

    now dial *22801 option 1 to activate with verizon, it'll also update the PRL

    now verify your PRL
    ##786 [TALK]

    Verizon's PRL should show 42xxx, 50xxx, or 52xxx or whatever current PRL thay are using.
     
  5. SQFreak

    SQFreak Moto's Not So Bad Anymore Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davidson, NC
    My Phone:
    Motorola Q9m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Those instructions won't work everywhere, and here's why:

    1) The MSL is set by an algorithm off the ESN; the one you give may not work for everyone.
    2) For ported numbers, the MDN and MIN are different.
    3) That txt file for the SID gives a 404.
    4) *22801 doesn't work everywhere; here it connects you to Alltel! *22800 is VZW here.
     
  6. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,239
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Tony, where did you learn to do all of this? :confused:
     
  7. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    no it may not be for everyone, but it does and has worked for some if not check Hofo and obviously you have to use the codes that correspond to your area...
    the question was, will it work with Verizon, yes it will though like you say it may not work for some, as far as ported numbers go, that wasn't part of the question... ;)
     
  8. Gideon H

    Gideon H Quase Três Anos Com WA! Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Higienópolis, São Paulo
    My Phone:
    Motorola E398
    Wireless Provider(s):
    TIM Brasil
    You tell 'em Tony ;). Sport those bold lettahs... lol.
     
  9. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    it was given to me by a couple of members at Hofo that have hacked their Virgin phones to work with Verizon and i also experimented with a Virgin Mobile Slider, though like i said some of the features don't work like GIN....
    to me it's not worth the headache, but i was curious to see if it would work and besides Verizon now carries the Slider, this was back when the Sly was not carried by Verzion so that also explains why some of the sids are outdated......
     
  10. Tony E!

    Tony E! \/\/ireless/\dvisor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T

    lol.......[​IMG]
     
  11. kjo

    kjo Bronze Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Oregon
    My Phone:
    Rooted HTC MyTouch 3g,
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile2Go, (Verizon(previous for many years))
    Thanks for the information. I saved it and will try it out just to see if it works if they decided to get verizon. If not...I'll tell her just to get a different phone.

    thanks!
     
  12. TProphet

    TProphet I *am* a mobile phone Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    My Phone:
    Sanyo 7200
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Cingular, Virgin Mobile Canada
    The MSL is variable on each Sprint handset, but is generally the same for every phone with the same equipment type on Virgin Mobile. For example, all Kyocera 2255's for Virgin Mobile have the MSL of 868666, and apparently this is true for Kyocera Slider handsets as well.
     
  13. gaspar_4444

    gaspar_4444 Junior Member Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I need unlock the MSL code from my LG PM 225 Sprint. I have a OKTSL code, but it is for programming service no for download PRL...

    Please Help ME!

    I'm from Argentina and I need use it to Movistar.
     
  14. SQFreak

    SQFreak Moto's Not So Bad Anymore Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davidson, NC
    My Phone:
    Motorola Q9m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Only someone inside Sprint PCS's technical support department can give that to you, and only with the ESN number of the phone. Good luck getting it. Unless it's gotten easier, you'll need to be really good at social engineering to get the MSL.
     
  15. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,306
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I highly advise against trying to program a Virgin Mobile phone on to Verizon Wireless. Verizon does indeed use voice on 850 Mhz in many areas. I'm not sure but I think Virgin Mobile phones only run on the 1900 Mhz band. Sure you can sometimes roam on 1900 Mhz CDMA but that is not always the case. For example in my area Verizon users can use Alltel but they CAN'T use Sprint PCS. Both Verizon and Alltel use the 850 Mhz frequency in my area. So if you had a 1900 Mhz phone on Verizon and came to my area you would have no signal whatsoever because Verizon forbids roaming on Sprint in my area in the PRL. With a 1900 Mhz only CDMA phone you may find yourself without signal in many places including your own home! I highly recommend that your mother just get a Verizon Wireless phone.
     
  16. gaspar_4444

    gaspar_4444 Junior Member Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somebody that live in the United Sates can call to Sprint, to solicit my MSL code? The phone number is 1-800-SPRINT1, that is free.

    I can't call to Sprint, the cost of the call is very expensive.

    The ESN number is XXXXXXXX, it is a LG PM 225 Sprint

    Thank You for your help

    If you want some products from Argentina. I'm very happy to help them.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2006

Share This Page