1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tracfone Roaming? How Can I Find Out Which Carrier I am Receiving a Signal From?

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Gamer03, Apr 15, 2005.

  1. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I was wondering how I can find out which carrier my Nokia 2600 is roaming off of? Which carrier does Tracfone prefer?

    Also what does it mean when people say Cingular orange or blue tower? Does Cingular orange mean Cingular's native coverage and blue means AT&T's coverage?

    I am in home zip code right now, and the phone just switched from Tracfone to Roaming. So how can I find out what carrier I am roaming on?

    Is there any way to force my phone to use a network (I am assuming not since there isn't a manual network selection menu)? Or does the phone and Tracfone just switch to the strongest network?

    Finally, according to Tracfone's website, they state the following:

    "Enjoy the same low rate for every call -- local, long distance & roaming"

    Does this above statement mean that I just use the minutes on my airtime card, whether I am dialing a local call (without the area code), a long distance call (with the area code), or roaming on my phone? Again I am assuming that my above statement is correct.

    Thanks in advance for anyone's help. I appreciate it.
     
    #1
  2. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    Nokia Lumia 1520
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Gamer, you are correct about the Cingular Blue/Orange coverage. The only way I know of to find out what network you are using is to dial 611 or a incomplete number. I am not up on Tracfone plans, but from what you say it sounds like everything is included in the standard per minute charge. :confused:
     
    #2
  3. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Ok.

    Well I set up my voicemail yesterday, and the prompt said welcome to Cingular Wireless. So I am guessing that when my phone says Tracfone I am using Cingular's coverage, and when I am roaming, I am using T-Mobile's coverage.

    I think I am going to e-mail Tracfone some questions. Thanks budney for pointing out the fact to dial 611 or a bogus number.

    I appreciate your help.

    BTW, Cingular's GSM coverage is awesome in my area. I will have to take my phone to my campus on Monday and test it out. ;)
     
    #3
  4. Shizam76

    Shizam76 Shizam! Babyyyyy!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S III
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    Gamer....pardon me for asking again.....as I know I have asked you and maybe because I am tired and it's late, I cannot find the other thread :O

    I thought you tried Cingular before and it was bad (leading you to go with Verizon--after your Sprint fiasco)? Maybe I'm thinking of something else? I'm glad it is going good for you so far (Cingular coverage).....how about campus?
     
    #4
  5. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    http://forums.wirelessadvisor.com/showthread.php?t=8011


    Gamer, glad Cingular/gsm is working fine. I didn't know you still were using Cingular TDMA in 2004--thought you got rid of it in 2003. Use gsm too much and you'll really start to notice the bad sound quality on vzw!
     
    #5
  6. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Gamer, how is the network performance in your area when a lot of subscribers start making their N&W calls at night or on weekends after a certain time?
     
    #6
  7. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,292
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Oh Please :biggrin:
     
    #7
  8. Shizam76

    Shizam76 Shizam! Babyyyyy!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S III
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    Thanks Airb for pointing that one out :O .....I just couldn't find it......then again it was late.
     
    #8
  9. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    That's ok shizam. :)

    We had Cingular TDMA from 2002-2004 (got rid of it in February of 2004).

    We switched to Sprint PCS in March of 2004, and then we dumped Sprint due to our extensive coverage problem towards the middle of January (2005). We now Verizon (before they switched to the no roaming plans). :D
     
    #9
  10. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    That figures.

    Cingular GSM (AT&T's old towers) has a full signal both inside and outside on my campus. :rolleyes:

    But Verizon works good too, so when our contract is up, unless Cingular has one :censored: of a promotion, then we will most likely keep Verizon. ;)
     
    #10
  11. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Network performance in my area after 7:00 p.m. (if you spent the $7/month to get the n&w to start earlier) or after 9:00 p.m. has the same type of performance that it does during the day. :)

    The same goes with Verizon in my area and up on my campus (although I am only there until 4:45 p.m. at the latest). ;)
     
    #11
  12. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    Sounds like you're caught in the middle since you want to have both :D.
     
    #12
  13. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,240
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    That's true.

    But with Verizon we will get the NE2.

    But I am very impressed with how well Cingular and the old AT&T (now Cingular) towers are in my area. :)
     
    #13
  14. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    ZTE Unico
    Wireless Provider(s):
    America Movil, Verizon
    How on earth did I miss this thread??? :D

    Generally, a call to 611 made with a TracFone (all technologies: CDMA, GSM, TDMA) will result in a recording of some type identifying the actual carrier's name. A call to 611 will use up units.

    Where you can roam, appears to be determined by the actual carrier. I took GSM and CDMA TracFone's with me on a recent trip to Canada (Montreal). Although it's been said the phones will not work outside of the U.S., both phones displayed "Roaming" up there, but I did not place any actual calls with them. The CDMA phone registered on Telus Moblilty.
     
    #14

Share This Page