1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Save Contacts to SIM Card?

Discussion in 'ANDROID Phones' started by RadioRaiders, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA
    How is a contact saved in Android exactly? Normally, with "old" phones, the contact is saved in the phone itself and/or the SIM card. Normally I would save the contacts to my SIM card, because I would change phones sometimes.

    With my Android (2.2.1) phone, I don't see the option to save contacts to the SIM card. Is it possible? I see Android associates the contact to the Gmail account the phone is registered to. And if I put my SIM card in another Android phone, the contacts will be there. But if I transfer my SIM card to a non-Android phone, only contacts stored on the SIM will appear (the contacts that were saved there long ago by a non-Android phone).

    ...so my question is: is there a way to save contacts to the SIM card on an Android phone? :confused:
     
  2. Charlyee

    Charlyee Ultimate Insanity Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,966
    Likes Received:
    878
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Yes there is. I don't know the exact steps on your Android but it should be in contacts>setting>

    On my Vivid, it is People(contacts)>Settings>Import/Export, which brings up options to save in three places and also to import them back.

    Screenshot attached, hope that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

    1 person likes this.
  3. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA
    Thanks! I missed that somehow. If I open contacts, then click the button with the 4 lines/squares (what is the name of that button?) then select "Import/Export", then I get some options like you have in your screenshot. Except since I'm on 2.2.1, it's not as many options. I can "Import from SIM card", but no "Export to SIM card" is there :( ...I guess it's only available in newer releases of Android. But thanks, this pretty much answers my question :)
     
  4. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4 GE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; T-Mobile To Go; MTS; e-kit
    RR, you can take some consolation in the fact that in ICS I have no option to export to SIM card either. I have a mostly useless option to export to storage, considering I have no removable media. On the upside, the export seems to use standard VCF so once you get them out you can probably import into any reasonably recent phone.
     
  5. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA
    Yea, I also have the option to "Export contacts to Storage" as well, which is kind of odd (export to SIM would be alot more useful).

    Charlyee: what version of Android did you make your screenshot with? I also like that you can change the signal-bars to show actual RSSI. I don't think I have that option in my version of Android.
     
  6. Charlyee

    Charlyee Ultimate Insanity Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,966
    Likes Received:
    878
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Now I am confused since in ICS I have all the options I posted. :confused:
    It is Android version 4.03.

    The showing of actual RSSI is a third party app called Signal Notification.
     
  7. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4 GE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; T-Mobile To Go; MTS; e-kit
    Charlyee, I'm on 4.0.2. It's either your custom ROM or a 4.0.3 addition.
     
  8. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S4 GE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; T-Mobile To Go; MTS; e-kit
    Checked on my co-worker's 4.0.3, no export to SIM either.
     
  9. Charlyee

    Charlyee Ultimate Insanity Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,966
    Likes Received:
    878
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    My Export to SIM, does not do me any good. It says unable to save, SIM card error. :eek:
    RR, will this help?



    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.shao.Copy2SIM&hl=en
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  10. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA
    Oh, yea, apps, forgot about that :O
    ...actually, I did a little Googling, and it seems that Android either doesn't support writing to SIM cards, or it can, but in a "flakey" kind of way.

    The person who wrote this app that writes contacts to SIM cards says this isn't officially supported by Android:
    t - happydroid

    I haven't looked into the actual code, but I guess there isn't an official Android API and the apps that do this writing to SIM are using some kind of "round-about" way to do it.

    ...maybe I'll look into it further and write my own app :browani: ....if I have time :O
     
  11. Charlyee

    Charlyee Ultimate Insanity Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,966
    Likes Received:
    878
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Interesting, Death Star (AT&T) seems to believe it can be done on their "How To" video for the HTC Vivid.

    Maybe Anthromatt Matt can step in and let us know if the instructions actually work. :cool:



    [video=youtube;XpVbVVUAZsU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpVbVVUAZsU[/video]
     
  12. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    Nokia Lumia 1520
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I am able to save contacts on my SIM in my Motorola Photon.

    Sent from my Photon 4G using Tapatalk
     

    Attached Files:

    1 person likes this.
  13. RadioRaiders

    RadioRaiders RF Black-Belt Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Undisclosed
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GSM / WCDMA
    Thanks for that info Charlyee and Bundy. :thumb:
    As the app developer I quoted before said, it is possible, but can vary by phone. If some phone model says it's supported, then it must have been built into or tested for that particular model and software. If you download a "generic" "contact-to-SIM-card" app from the Android Market...er... Google Play...then it's a crap shoot as to if it will work or not.
     
  14. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    Nokia Lumia 1520
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    That is what I was thinking. With no clear answer it comes down to manufacturer / carrier software supporting it and properly implemented it. :(
     
  15. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie Super Moderator Junior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,292
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    Yes, it works, but you can only do one contact at a time lol.

    Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page