1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to start a cell phone company?

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Guest, Nov 7, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

How can I offer cellular service in my area? I would like to offer a similar service to Cricket which provides UNLIMITED LOCAL SERVICE. I'm new to this, so I would need to start from the top.

2. pfp

pfp Senior Member Senior Member

Step 1:

Register on the forum and we'll all give you more respect and be much more interested in communicating with you.

P

3. karthik

karthik New Member

4. zamboni77

zamboni77 Supreme CadGuru Senior Member

My Phone:
    BB 8330
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon who else?
    Lots and Lots of Capital......and when you get some, get some more.

If you are really going to try, why not try selling it to a local company by providing it to them for a free trial period.

5. Bill Clinton

Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free.... Senior Member

My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    What area are you in?

Would you be building a network or operating an MVNO?

You probably should have done this about 15 years ago. I am willing to bet that there are already a few providers that are strong in your area and not many customers will want to switch. Building your own network is a huge cost. Even covering one small city would come at a huge price. I don't think you can make it work.

If Cricket is not in your area you might be able to get a few towers up, get a few thousand customers, and then sell to Cricket or another small provider that is no present in your area. Still a long shot so consider another way of making your living.

6. TelcomJunkie

TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator Senior Member

Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother