1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. ARE YOU HAVING PASSWORD PROBLEMS? If so, please tell me by email : [email protected]

Can Verizon Activate a Nextel Phone?

Discussion in 'MOTOROLA' started by pollydog, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. pollydog

    pollydog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I have a Motorola i60c that I used with Nextel for about three weeks. I cancelled the service and went with Verizon instead. This was about three years ago. I recently lost my Verizon phone for the third time. :rolleyes:Of course they wont give me insurance now. I came accross this old nextel phone which is like Brand New. Can I activate it with my Verizon Service?
     
  2. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,304
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    HTC Vivid LTE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Nope. Verizon and Nextel use different network technologies. Verizon uses CDMA and Nextel uses iDEN. They are not compatible.

    -Jay
     
  3. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    and don't get any ideas about switching to nextel either.....they may have good services but they arent highspeed their text messaging sucks and they are currently being integrated into Sprint PCS which means that the Nextel iDEN will disappear that phone my be good now but by 2010 it will be completely worthless....
     
  4. rwsrichard

    rwsrichard Guest


    One real quick way to see is to go to the VZW wireless website. From here create you an account ID, if you have not already done so.

    Login and under you account click on 'activate phone'. Just follow the instructions and IF the phone works it works, IF not you will get a message stating so.

    This saved me $25 when our phones we ordered online came in. When we called VZW to activate them, they said they wanted $25 per phone to activate OR we could do it for free by following the above steps.

    Hope that helps, also.
     
  5. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:. Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    He could....but with this we no it won't work. Because There are three major wireless network technologies, CDMA, GSM, iDen. Unless they are dual-network/world phones they won't work with eachother at all. But for any future one CDMA phone he buys that will help a lot.
     
  6. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Motorola has released a dual mode phone that will work on CDMA for voice and data and iDEN for DC......it doesn't have any bells and whistles but it gets the point across and it is rugged like a nextel
     
  7. M in LA

    M in LA Super Moderator Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    HTC Droid DNA
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (since 1994)
    Yes, but specifically for Sprint and Nextel. The likelihood of Verizon activating this phone is non-existent.
     
  8. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    thats true.....Verizon has now tightened security so

    1)the phone has to be E911 compliant
    2)the phone must contain Verizon's preferred roaming database
    3)the phone must contain Verizon software (the unique interface that is on
    all Verizon phones only)

    3 also means must be locked to Verizon network

    which means if you have an old Sprint phone and want to go to Verizon with that phone then you might have to actually send the phone in for them to program if they will even do that at all
     

Share This Page