1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

almost no signal at home

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by cscii01, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. cscii01

    cscii01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dingmans Ferry
    My Phone:
    blackberry 8530I
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint/Nextel
    How can i get a better signal on my blackberry 8530I. I just started a new contract and only have 1 week left to cancel. Sprint tell me I can not use a sprint phone due to no signal and have to use the nextel one we got. They only get 0-1 bars signal and drop call all the time at home. I can not find anouther provider that has a good signal here. Do I get a signal booster and if so how do they work an which one do I get.

    Thanks
    Jim
     
  2. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,292
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    The Blackberry 8350 doesn't get the best reception. If you need a Blackberry you don't have many options. If you just need a phone with great reception the i1, i465, and i680 are all going to perform better than the blackberry.
     
  3. Gman

    Gman Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    My Phone:
    Epic 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Call Sprint and tell them you want an Airave to provide coverage inside your home (assuming you have high speed internet).
     
  4. cscii01

    cscii01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dingmans Ferry
    My Phone:
    blackberry 8530I
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint/Nextel
    I tried that and Sprint told me that I would have no signal with sprint and have to stay with Nextel. They said the Airave does not work with Nextel.
     
  5. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,292
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 5s
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    That is correct. The Airave does not work with Nextel and if you live in an area that is not serviced by Sprint they cannot sell you an Airave.
     
  6. broctherock

    broctherock New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Phone:
    HTC EVO
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
  7. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Best bet is AT&T in that area. I never had much luck with Sprint up in that area either, even with it roaming on Verizon. Maybe they'll let you out of your contract for a reduced fee due to the signal issues.
     

Share This Page