Results 1 to 4 of 4

Sprint Problem -- "All circuits are busy" message?

Hi all, I haven't had this problem in months, but for a good period of time in the past year (especially ...

  1. #1
    Guest

    Default Sprint Problem -- "All circuits are busy" message?

    Hi all,

    I haven't had this problem in months, but for a good period of time in the past year (especially after September 11th), I had a really big problem with my Sprinticon PCS service.

    It seemed that very often, when my friends would try to give me a call on my cell phone, they would hear the message "All circuits are busy", and the call would not even get through to my cell phone. This used to happen ALOT. However, it hasn't happened in a while.

    I'm just wondering -- Did this happen to anyone else out there? If so -- does anyone know WHY we had this problem? And, WHY it doesn't seem to be happening anymore?

    (By the way -- I live in the New York City metro. area).


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Go Lakers! larry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    13,715
    Phone(s)
    LG Optimus G
    Provider(s)
    Sprint
    Likes
    45
    Images
    166

    Default Sprint Problem -- "All circuits are busy" message?

    I have never had any "All circuits are busy" messages in the 5 years that I've been with Sprinticon. I'm in the Los Angeles, CA area.

  3. #3

    bobolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    in front of my computer
    Posts
    12,726
    Phone(s)
    iPhone 5
    BlackberryTorch 9850
    Provider(s)
    T-Mobile
    Devices
    WiFi cards/Access points
    Likes
    41
    Images
    50

    Default Sprint Problem -- "All circuits are busy" message?

    Yeah, but in NYC I am aware that Sprinticon has been having capacity problems for a long time but it is not too serious. Sometimes you can call someone's Sprinticon phone and it rings but the Voicemail never comes up or it tells you that the voicemail is busy and to try later.
    "Jobs was brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it."
    -Barack Obama

  4. #4

    ehcruzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    US Virgin Islands
    Posts
    754
    Phone(s)
    iPhone 3GS
    Provider(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Devices
    iPod Touch 2G, WiFi gear

    Default Sprint Problem -- "All circuits are busy" message?

    Were your friends calling from a Verizonicon landline/home phone? Sounds like the T1 Trunk(s) between Verizonicon and Sprinticon PCS were overloaded. In a case like that, Sprinticon would order additional trunks (24 voice circuits per T1 trunk) from Verizon to ease the congestion. Here's a basic idea of how this is accomplished:

    1) The wireless carrier's local manager determines economic feasability of adding capacity and writes a business case.
    2) The manager then submits budget request if there isn't money allocated in the current year's budget.
    3) Once approved, an order is placed with an equipment manufacturer for any additional gear needed to expand capacity. If they had extra installed originally, this saves them several months.
    4) After the gear is ready, an order is placed with the local phone carrier for the T1 trunk(s) which are usually completely provisioned in a month (engineering, paperwork, billing, provisioning, testing, etc...).
    5) After the wireless carrier connects the trunk(s) to their gear, they usually perform their own tests.
    6) The wireless carrier then puts everything live.

    This whole process takes several months to complete partly because of the number of desks the paperwork crosses. Carriers have been improving their electronic processes to help speed up this process, but there is still quite a bit of the human factor required to complete these tasks. I hope this info helps to answer your question.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Nextel: "Network Busy. Try Again Later."
    By cellular_freak in forum Central US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-25-2005, 12:28 PM
  2. "Network busy"... What if it's a 911 situation?
    By DDDD in forum GENERAL Wireless Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-19-2003, 6:56 AM
  3. Sprint "Night And Weekend" Billing problem
    By krilln in forum SAMSUNG
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-30-2002, 10:14 PM
  4. Keep getting "Network Busy" from T-Mobile
    By XeNiHtIs in forum Northeastern US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 4:10 PM
  5. Samsung A460 "roam vs. Sprint PCS" problem
    By AnthroMatt in forum All Other Brands of Wireless Phones
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-11-2002, 12:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About Us | Advertising | Privacy Statement | Legal | Press | Feedback/Contact


Forum feeds:         Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Copyright 1997-2014 Wireless Advisor, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.