Results 1 to 8 of 8

Replacement phone activation.

One of the kids lost his phone and i bought a V-262 ALLTEL phone for him to use until the good ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    GRUNDY
    Posts
    137

    Default Replacement phone activation.

    One of the kids lost his phone and i bought a V-262 ALLTEL phone for him to use until the good one turns up. With the help of the alltel hotline we tried to activate it, but the *228 wouldn't work because i'm in an area where alltel piggybacks from Verizonicon towers. when i dial 611 with the phone, i get the "thanks for calling alltel" and they recognize the correct number, but dialing any other number gives me Verizonicon wireless. we also tried to manually activate the phone with the 74**3#menu/menu method and got the same result. Is there any way to activate the phone other than taking it back to my home base area? i'll be there next week, but i'm kind of curious as to how the system works. thanks.

  2. #2


    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hutchinson, KS
    Posts
    599
    Likes
    4

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    If manual programming didn't work, you'll have to use an Alltel tower.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    GRUNDY
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    thanks, i kinda' figured that.

  4. #4


    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northeast Kansas
    Posts
    531
    Likes
    16

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    Quote Originally Posted by grazzzy View Post
    One of the kids lost his phone and i bought a V-262 ALLTEL phone for him to use until the good one turns up. With the help of the alltel hotline we tried to activate it, but the *228 wouldn't work because i'm in an area where alltel piggybacks from Verizonicon towers. when i dial 611 with the phone, i get the "thanks for calling alltel" and they recognize the correct number, but dialing any other number gives me Verizonicon wireless. we also tried to manually activate the phone with the 74**3#menu/menu method and got the same result. Is there any way to activate the phone other than taking it back to my home base area? i'll be there next week, but i'm kind of curious as to how the system works. thanks.
    You could call CS via a landline at 1-800-Alltel1 and have CS walk you through a manual activation.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    GRUNDY
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    i tried the manual with CS, and all we could pick up was a Verizonicon tower. I'm headed to my home base area monday and it should activate there.

  6. #6


    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northeast Kansas
    Posts
    531
    Likes
    16

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    Quote Originally Posted by grazzzy View Post
    i tried the manual with CS, and all we could pick up was a Verizonicon tower. I'm headed to my home base area monday and it should activate there.
    A manual activation does not require the phone to hit ANY tower. It is all done manually. You may not be able to test it afterwards without roaming charges, depending on your rate plan, but you CAN manually enter the proper data - even in an area that has NO cell service at all.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    GRUNDY
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    that's what we thought too, but the only alltel service we get is when dialing 611. everything else gives us a Verizonicon message. funny thing is we can even check minutes of use [-0- since the old phone was lost at the end of the billing period], but no incoming or outgoing calls.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    GRUNDY
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Replacement phone activation.

    Quote Originally Posted by bikebryan View Post
    A manual activation does not require the phone to hit ANY tower. It is all done manually. You may not be able to test it afterwards without roaming charges, depending on your rate plan, but you CAN manually enter the proper data - even in an area that has NO cell service at all.
    You were right after all. i tried again today with a different rep. the guy the other night had me read numbers from under the battery and this guy had me go into the menus of the phone for the i.d. #. works like a charm now. thanks for the heads up.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Phone Activation
    By bfair in forum Verizon Wireless Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 10:20 PM
  2. Phone Activation! Help :)
    By Caboose57 in forum GENERAL Wireless Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 9:27 PM
  3. buying a Verizon phone without activation
    By cambo357 in forum Western US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 3:52 PM
  4. New Phone Activation Fee - Verizon
    By lsw in forum Central US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-14-2004, 2:32 PM
  5. ATT Go Phone Activation
    By Bsilvertab in forum Central US Wireless Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 6:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About Us | Advertising | Privacy Statement | Legal | Press | Feedback/Contact


Forum feeds:         Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Copyright 1997-2014 Wireless Advisor, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.